Good Ole' Southern Frogmore Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
Nice! I changed this recipe as follows to serve four: just under ¼ cup Old Bay (instead of the salt and crab boil); 1 lb cooked/frozen jumbo shrimp. Other changes: I cooked the corn in advance, in another pot; I cut the potatoes into quarters. Otherwise, I followed the directions exactly. I had no idea what to expect with so few ingredients – the results were amazing. I had my parents over for dinner & we all LOVED IT. In a nod to tradition, I used newspaper as a tablecloth (but we ate out of bowls and I ate with my fingers). A fun evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
I love this recipe. I make this all the time, the only thing I do is add crab legs to it. I call it a crab boil. I am always making this for girls nite. I like to serve this with a garlic dipping butter and hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Deevah Socialite

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Snow Hill, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
this is our favorite summer fire pit meal. we cook it on our fire pit in the backyard. we add in some crab legs and andoulle sausage. it's a big hit with our neighbors and friends.we put 3 onions quartered and 5 garlic cloves and course ground pepper. it's fun to sit outside and cook it with some cold brews. that's how we do it in milwaukee, wi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I didn't have shrimp on hand. So,I added chunks of chicken breast. Still turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
This is an exciting dish to make and eat. The shrimp is enhanced by the garlic and sweetness of the corn. Try it. I know you'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hobos on the Road

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Princeton, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
This was not terrible, but it wasn't great for sure. The lemon made the whole thing taste funny. I doubt I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
We made this for forty people and it was a huge hit. Just be aware that some people have shell fish allergies and may need alternate meal. I did use Old Bay Seasoning and fresh from the field sweet corn. I worried about the lemons but they were fine. We may do this annually. It was superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
This is phenomenal! Yes this is really basic but everything comes together and tastes like you spent all day slaving away. Think of it more as a Southern verison of a clambake rather than a traditional "stew". Fixed two big pots of this for 4th of July over my grill. Briefly grilled the corn before adding it to the pot. Everyone loved it though be warned it's a bit messy to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Awesome recipe, I make this for dinner at least once every other week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
The whole family loved it! There was NOTHING left. I didn't change a thing but will have to put in some extra corn next time for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Frogmore Stew

See how to make a traditional South Carolina shrimp stew.

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Puerto Rican Codfish Stew

What's cooking in Allentown? Milly's authentic stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States