Good Ole' Southern Frogmore Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by katsiss
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
I used vegi sausage and added aparagus. Normally my boyfriend will tell me the meal was good after he eats it, this time he told me "you will be making this again, lots."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katsiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hermiston, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
5 stars for how easy this is to prepare. 3 for the lemon that I didn't like and the seasoning. Maybe I'm not being fair because it could be the brand of seasoning I used, but this was so hot my husband wouldn't eat anymore of it until I rinsed it and boiled it a little more in fresh water. I had fresh shrimp from the Gulf and should have made Jambalya like I had planned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
I love this recipe. I make this all the time, the only thing I do is add crab legs to it. I call it a crab boil. I am always making this for girls nite. I like to serve this with a garlic dipping butter and hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Deevah Socialite

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Snow Hill, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
The whole family loved it! There was NOTHING left. I didn't change a thing but will have to put in some extra corn next time for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nita
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
This is a great fun recipe. No need to change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
This is phenomenal! Yes this is really basic but everything comes together and tastes like you spent all day slaving away. Think of it more as a Southern verison of a clambake rather than a traditional "stew". Fixed two big pots of this for 4th of July over my grill. Briefly grilled the corn before adding it to the pot. Everyone loved it though be warned it's a bit messy to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
This was not terrible, but it wasn't great for sure. The lemon made the whole thing taste funny. I doubt I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
Nice! I changed this recipe as follows to serve four: just under ¼ cup Old Bay (instead of the salt and crab boil); 1 lb cooked/frozen jumbo shrimp. Other changes: I cooked the corn in advance, in another pot; I cut the potatoes into quarters. Otherwise, I followed the directions exactly. I had no idea what to expect with so few ingredients – the results were amazing. I had my parents over for dinner & we all LOVED IT. In a nod to tradition, I used newspaper as a tablecloth (but we ate out of bowls and I ate with my fingers). A fun evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
This is an exciting dish to make and eat. The shrimp is enhanced by the garlic and sweetness of the corn. Try it. I know you'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hobos on the Road

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Princeton, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Frogmore Stew

See how to make a traditional South Carolina shrimp stew.

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Puerto Rican Codfish Stew

What's cooking in Allentown? Milly's authentic stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States