Good Old Fashioned Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
I loved this recipe. And I really enjoy reading the reviews. When people modify the recipe, it makes me understand that maybe I'd like to use less salt or change it a little, which I find very helpful! I did also actually modify it, added a little bit of vanilla and 1 tbsp more sugar. Otherwise, I'm sure it would have been just as good just the way it was. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
After I had put everything in the bowl (most of the other pancake recipe just throw everything together), I looked at the recipe and prayed to the Goddess that it wasn't going to mess it up. It still produced amazingly delicious and fluffy pancakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I found the batter to be boring. As to the technical aspects. This recipe is perfect. Baking powder and baking soda are NOT interchangeable!! Thus the bitter comments. Also, if your baking powder is very very old, don't use it! Because these are old fashioned I prepared and cooked them just like my grandmother taught me. Mix the wet ingredients together, whisk the dry, then whisk them both together. Let the batter rest while you heat up your skillet. This is a low and slow process. For my skillet and stove top the heat is just shy of medium toward the low side. As a final note I did end up adding an extra 1/4 c of milk because I like a thinner cake. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Walker Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Tastes great. They are the right thickness and take about 15 minutes to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
I halved the recipe and made it for my toddler and I. It was more than enough! It made one medium sized and 6 silver dollar pancakes. I didn't quite have enough flour so I just use a little less milk and it was great! The pancakes cooked so well and were nice and fluffy!! I plan on using this one from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stillman Valley, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
I love these pancakes and I have tried a few these are the lightest fluffiest pancakes I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by srchunt

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I read some of the negative reviews just to see what went wrong. When you use soda instead of powder and TABLESPOONS instead of teaspoons, of course it's salty and bitter! I did tweak this a little bit because I was going for something sweeter. (out of syrup) Reduced baking powder to 3t, skipped the salt, added a couple T of cocoa, vanilla, and increased sugar to 1T. Mixed in 1/3C chocolate chips. Very good and balanced base to start with. Look forward to having it next with cinnamon & grated apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Falcon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
GREAT recipe! I do follow Tevans211 alterations though adding a teaspoon of vanilla and warming the eggs and milk for 5 secs in the microwave. I have big hockey players to feed and all of them think these are the best pancakes ever!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flamingo4955

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
I made the pancake mix recipe and used it to make pancakes and waffles. They were delicious!!! My whole family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
So I made this recipe on a random lazy friday morning. I decided to add 2-3 teaspoons of Grand Marniner, 2 teaspoons of Hershey's Chocolate Powder and and bunch of Nestle's Mini Chocolate Chips. This Recipe is amazing for a perfect pancake base that you can enjoy by itself or get a little creative. Well done Dakota Kelly! P.S. the pancakes didn't last long enough to take pictures.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stefan Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 6,653) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Good Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make one of our top 5 most popular recipes!

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States