Good Old Fashioned Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
These pancakes are soooooo fluffy and moist! They were also really easy to make! I read a few reviews before making them and I reduced the salt to 3/4 tsp and I added 1 tsp vanilla extract. They were really yummy and my family said they were the best pancakes they had ever had and they said they were the fluffiest the had ever had! Thanks for the wonderful recipe! This is now my new pancake recipe and it was certainly a big hit with the family as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I like it except I lowered the amount of salt to at least a half a teaspoon and next time I am thinking of adding some vanilla extract or cardimon extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
ok-With minor adjustments this goes into my RB.For years I've always used Bisquick,but now I will use this.After reading reviews and reading the recipe 3 times,I decided to not use salt.My intution said that would be too much. My butter is salted-thats enough.I sifted twice-I used 3 tsp of the Baking powder-aluminum free. Upped the sugar to 2 tables.- beaten egg-A dash of vanilla-warmed the milk,do not overmix-add the blueberries.Delish! Real Maple syrup always!..between 4-5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
The Pancakes are absolutely DELICIOUS!!!!!! I've added some cinnamon and vanilla extract, because I wanted the pancakes to taste sweet, and it's perfect for breakfast. The pancakes was a HUGE hit with me and my sister, so I will definitely make these pancakes AGAIN!!!!! Best of all, the recipe was simple and EASY to make!!!!!!!!!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msdramaqueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
People were coming for last-minute brunch and I had nothing good to feed them, so I quickly sent google on a mission to find pancake recipes. This came up and I had rave reviews. guests said they were the best pancakes they ever ate I will never experiment with another recipe. This is IT for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Follow the recipe exactly and the pancakes came out perfect. The key to success is a nonstick pan and when you put down the 1/4 cup batter, do not spread it too thin. Just put the batter down and let it naturally spread itself. No need to twirl the pan to help spread it along. This will ensure fluffy and tender pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
These were delicious! I made them with King Arthur all-purpose gluten free flour and a pinch of xanthan gum (I have a gluten intolerance), plus about 1/4 tsp vanilla and a couple handfuls of chocolate chips. My husband said they were some of the best pancakes he's ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I have made this recipe 3 times (Sundays) in 3 weeks. Read suggestions so added 1 tbsp. vanilla extract (really like Vanilla!) and only put 1/4 teaspoon salt. I also let the mix "sit" for 30 minutes to thicken. I grew up on pancake mixes and never imagined that I could make my very own pancakes that are just as good or better than those from a box!!! I was quite the skeptic but don't think I'll buy boxed pancake mix ever again as this is soooo easy!! Thank you! Other things I did: Beat egg and vanilla together then put in center "hole". Did not want to over-stir batter to mix the egg in. My batter has lumps in it which I have always understood is important otherwise you end up with "cement". Oh, and also sift dry ingredients but only doing it once. Will try doing it twice. Another important point is to cook pancakes on low-medium heat. As the pancakes cook, you will begin to see holes on their surface. When you have a lot of holes, turn them over, cook for like 30 seconds on the other side and serve. This way, the pancakes are nice and moist. If you like butter, melt butter in the microwave and drizzle over your pancakes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I've never written a review before. I've also never made pancakes from scratch. Until this morning when I ran out of pancake mix. My 5 year old was skeptical but, once done, he said these were the best pancakes he's ever eaten. And they were. Yummy...! I added 1 teaspoon of vanilla and left everything else as is. Amazing...! Will never buy pancake mix again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
This has been my go-to recipe for years. My sisters always request it for breakfast when I spend the weekend with my family. My husband even wanted it for dinner one night. Best pancakes, hands down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melak23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 6,480) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Good Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make one of our top 5 most popular recipes!

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States