Good Old Fashioned Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Perfect pancakes! I, too, added just a little splash of vanilla extract. We loved these. I won't use a box mix again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Wow. Tender, golden, fluffy delights. You don't have to change a thing on this recipe. I ended up with inch-thick cakes with a crispy crust. I fried them in coconut oil on a nonstick pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
I use this recipe with cup for cup gluten free flour and they turn out amazing every time!...i do add chocolate chips and cinnamon for the kids or vanilla protein powder and they still just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I only put in 1/2 tsp of salt, and I added 1 tsp of vanilla. I also added dried blueberries, cranberries,and pomegranate to mine. But the plain ones were really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
This recipe was quick, easy, yummy and flexible (if I had wanted to change it up a bit). I give it a 5 stars because it was just perfect for me. I read many reviews before trying it out myself. I only made one substitute; switching 1 tsp salt for 1 tsp vanilla because I absolutely LOVE using vanilla! I was using salted butter already and the baking powder was already salty to the taste so changing it for vanilla seemed like a decent idea to me. If I had been using unsalted butter I would have used the salt to make up for the lack in the butter. Other than that small change I made the recipe as is and it was perfect! I used the 1/4 cup measurement for each one and it make 10 pancakes. Definitely going to make this one again! Thanks so much for this amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Good recipe a little thick for my taste so I added a 1/4C more of milk and a 1/2 Tblsp of canilla extract i didn't sift as I do not have a sifter still turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Very nice! I followed recipe 100%. I thought the salt ratio was perfect, as is. I sifted the flour and dry ingredients several times as others have suggested. I let the batter sit for about a half an hour before cooking. Just like I remember from my childhood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minerva, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rouen, Haute-Normandie, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
These pancakes are soooooo fluffy and moist! They were also really easy to make! I read a few reviews before making them and I reduced the salt to 3/4 tsp and I added 1 tsp vanilla extract. They were really yummy and my family said they were the best pancakes they had ever had and they said they were the fluffiest the had ever had! Thanks for the wonderful recipe! This is now my new pancake recipe and it was certainly a big hit with the family as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I like it except I lowered the amount of salt to at least a half a teaspoon and next time I am thinking of adding some vanilla extract or cardimon extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
ok-With minor adjustments this goes into my RB.For years I've always used Bisquick,but now I will use this.After reading reviews and reading the recipe 3 times,I decided to not use salt.My intution said that would be too much. My butter is salted-thats enough.I sifted twice-I used 3 tsp of the Baking powder-aluminum free. Upped the sugar to 2 tables.- beaten egg-A dash of vanilla-warmed the milk,do not overmix-add the blueberries.Delish! Real Maple syrup always!..between 4-5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 6,477) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Good Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make one of our top 5 most popular recipes!

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States