Good Old Fashioned Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This is amazing, I love it, definitely better then store bought. Like my Canadian counterpart Karl, I like mine a little thinner so added a little water, not much maybe a 1/4 cup, other then that I wouldn't change a thing and if you like them thick I would keep it as is. Thanks so much Verona. I had it with homemade maple syrup made with maple sugar, which was just the topping to perfection. Thanks again for sharing Verona.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I made a half batch and choked down one. First off, I added less salt than called for, and it still seemed like too much when I tasted the batter. Other than that, I followed the recipe to a T. After they were cooked, they were fluffy but dry, and the taste was bitter and salty. I drowned them in syrup and still they weren't edible. These were terrible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
SALTY!!!! Too much salt from both salt and baking powder combination. If you look at any other recipe, the baking powder used in this good old fashioned recipe is about 6 times more than other recipes. Blech!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I made these today. I followed the recipe exactly as written, and my husband and I loved them. Make as written, and the dish is lovely. We put peanut butter and honey on them, and they were simply great. Thank you for posting this one, it is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fred Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
These were the best packs I have ever tried. So fluffy and light. I added 1/2 tsp vanilla at the end and they came out great. Do watch for over mixing, you want lumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I found this recipe and made a couple substitutions. I doubled the recipe to have plenty leftover for the toaster. I used 1/4 cup coconut oil with 2tbsp butter melted. I also substituted 1/3 of the flour for whole grain unbleached flour. I also added about 2tbsp pure vanilla extract and 1tbsp cinnamon. The result was so yummy. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Atuk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I made them this morning. This is good for people who like pancakes like, "Bisquick." I was personally never a fan only because they taste very thik/heavy. If you do like bisquick then the recipe is good except the salt. I saw a review that the pancakes had too much salt so i used 3/4tsp instead of the full tsp. If I were to make them again I would use a little bit less than 3/4tsp of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelle h

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
These were some of the best pancakes I have ever made! I made a few minor changes: I cut the salt in half, warmed the milk before adding it, and added cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, and vanilla to spice it up. I made a quadruple batch, and we will be eating these for the next week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I ran out of pancake mix this morning and tried this recipe for the first time making pancakes from scratch. These pancakes were amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Awesome! Best pancake recipe I've found. I added about a half teaspoon of Apple pie spice , or just cinnamon will do, and 1/4 teaspoon vanilla. I generally add these to any pancake recipe. For my husband, I added small dollops of crunchy peanut butter and sliced banana on top of the pancake just before the flip in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 6,713) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Good Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make one of our top 5 most popular recipes!

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States