Good Old Fashioned Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I just finished trying this Recipe and it was wonderful! It was simple and the whole family enjoyed it. I took some of the advice from other reviews and did add 1 tsp of vanilla extract and an extra 1/4 c of milk to thin the batter out a bit because it is quite thick. It yielded 12, 5-6inch pancakes!! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
These were amazing! I followed the recipe exactly and added chocolate chips while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Way to much salt and baking powder. Very dense and did not taste like a pancake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I made them this morning and found them to be very good. I made a 1/2 recipe amount and followed a few of the suggestions on other reviews. I left out the salt as I don't use much salt, I added a 1/2 teaspoon vanilla and finding the batter a bit thick, added a couple of tablespoons more milk. The 1/2 recipe called for 1/2 of an egg so I just put in a whole egg. The pancakes cooked very quickly and were done inside just perfectly, with no problem of raw dough in the middle. This is a lot cheaper than a box of mix and only took a few extra minutes of measuring out ingredients. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Totally delicious! I made these for my sisters and it went incredible
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Good and easy but way too much of salt. Adding a pinch of vanilla extract does more magic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
I loved this recipe. And I really enjoy reading the reviews. When people modify the recipe, it makes me understand that maybe I'd like to use less salt or change it a little, which I find very helpful! I did also actually modify it, added a little bit of vanilla and 1 tbsp more sugar. Otherwise, I'm sure it would have been just as good just the way it was. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
After I had put everything in the bowl (most of the other pancake recipe just throw everything together), I looked at the recipe and prayed to the Goddess that it wasn't going to mess it up. It still produced amazingly delicious and fluffy pancakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I found the batter to be boring. As to the technical aspects. This recipe is perfect. Baking powder and baking soda are NOT interchangeable!! Thus the bitter comments. Also, if your baking powder is very very old, don't use it! Because these are old fashioned I prepared and cooked them just like my grandmother taught me. Mix the wet ingredients together, whisk the dry, then whisk them both together. Let the batter rest while you heat up your skillet. This is a low and slow process. For my skillet and stove top the heat is just shy of medium toward the low side. As a final note I did end up adding an extra 1/4 c of milk because I like a thinner cake. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Walker Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Tastes great. They are the right thickness and take about 15 minutes to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 6,639) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Good Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make one of our top 5 most popular recipes!

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States