Good Old Fashioned Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 23, 2014
I have never made pancakes from scratch before because I always thought it'd be too hard. Boy, was I wrong! I was craving pancakes tonight and since I was out of the "just add water" mix, I decided to give it a go. The only thing I changed was adding a dash of vanilla extract and honey. These were the fluffiest, easiest, most golden brown beautiful pancakes I've ever made. I always thought I was bad at making pancakes because the store bought mix would burn or turn out too flat... Nope, it was just the mix was bad. Kudos to your grandma because she sure knew her pancakes :) thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Fluffy and delicious, although a bit crumbly. Will use this recipe from now on, but with less salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
It was OK, but not enough sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
These pancakes rock. I sifted them twice, just for the heck of it, and added vanilla and they were seriously the best pancakes I've ever eaten. I can't wait to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I made this recipe dairy free using almond milk and canola oil instead of butter. It was amazing! Also add 1/2 tsp of vanilla when not using vanilla almond milk. These are thick fluffy pancakes. Makes 8 quarter cup size pancakes. Adding an additional 1/4 cup of milk gives a lighter pancake which my hubby likes better and 12 quarter cup sized pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
I followed this recipe to the letter and it turned out wonderful!!! The kids LOVED them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
One morning I ran out of Bisquick Pancake Mix, and I had no buttermilk. I still wanted to have pancakes, so I found this website. I tried this recipe, and I had made myself the easiest and best pancakes I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Wonderful fluffy pancakes. I used skim milk and had to add a little more milk. I also added a dash of vanilla! This is my new go-to pancake recipe. Bye bye bisquik!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
These are ok. I doubled the recipe for a large batch. I reduced milk and salt a little bit and added tsp vanilla and a small bag of frozen raspberries. It made very thick and fluffy pancakes. The texture was better than the flavor. I will try another recipe next time. This is better than box pancakes, which are only fair tasting and filled with chemicals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
I really love the taste of this recipe, but I do have a bit of an issue with it. The batter is waaaayyy too much like cake and it doesn't spread in my pan. Also, I'm not sure if it's me or the batter, but it's very hard to find the perfect temperature to cook these so they are not burnt, or raw. I've tried to increase the milk and decrease the baking powder, but I just can't seem to find a consistency that I like. Anyone have any ideas? Also, would like to ask, the melted butter, when I pour it into the liquid mixture, it solidifies again because of the cold milk and eggs. Is this supposed to happen? Why not just put room temperature butter in? Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sauble Beach, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 6,613) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Good Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make one of our top 5 most popular recipes!

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States