Good Ol' Alabama Sweet Tea Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I personally find this to be toothache inducing sweet. Not so good at all. But, I need to dispute the fact you can't get this up north. I'm from PA and my family makes this ALL the time. I myself do not like it, but it's been a staple at my family reunions since I was a little girl. To make this even remotely appetizing, you need to at **least** half the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caliboo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
EXCELLANT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Graham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Shelton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
The amount of tea bags to the amount of water makes this seem like sugar water. I use 1 gallon of water bring to a boil turn off heat add 12 tea bags steep for 15 mins. add 1 1/2c-2c sugar. add iced to a tall glass and a squeeze of lemon & pour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shell89

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
This is our favorite tea. I had a hard time finding Orange Pekoe...but finally found it at an Asian Grocery and then in bulk at Cash and Carry. You can taylor the sugar to your own taste. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
This is the only way I can make tea now. I LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
add a pinch of baking soda to make the tea extra smooth! it really works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
scaled it down a bit... very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by djo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampere, Pirkanmaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
This tea is awesome. My 5 yr old always adds so much sugar so I tried this out and I am so glad I did. I only added 1 1/4 cup of sugar and I used 3 family size tea bags of regular tea. I then threw in 3 bags of raspberry zinger celestial seasonings and the hint of raspberry is awesome. Next time I will try it with the orange tangerine and the balck cherry flavors. But, even without the flavorings I know that this is a bomb tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ITALIANMOMOF3;)

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2008
Perfect!!! I have had a hard time trying to make the tea I grew up drinking.This is it.Thank you,could give you a hug.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
I give it a 5 because there just isn't any substitute for good, ol' Southern sweet tea! As with other reviewers, I also don't like mine quite this sweet, and a good bit stronger, so I use 8 regular sized Lipton tea bags and 1 cup sugar, to make 1 gallon of tea. If I have folks coming over that don't do sugar, I will make it without, but have a container of simple syrup made and ready (2 cups sugar dissolved in 1 cup hot/boiling water) so that each person who wants can then sweeten to their individual tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States