Good Ol' Alabama Sweet Tea Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I love iced tea. I made the recipe as directed and no one could drink it due to sweetness. Next time, I used 1 cup of sugar, 8 regular sized tea bads, and a gallon of water and thought it was still alittle sweeter than it should be. I think I will cut it to 3/4 of sugar to a gallon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dining Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: East Granby, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
I did not add 2 cups of sugar. I added about 1 1/2. It was excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
just like mine but,with one more cup of sugar. My husband loves this stuff!!!(try adding some ginger ale to it)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa diaz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
I am southern also and used to make my tea with 2 cups, but I have reduced my sugar to 1 cup and make a full gal. with 5 regular or 3 family size tea bags. I always get compliments on my tea. I sometimes drink it with no sugar. It is simply your choice on the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beattyville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: New Lebanon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Exactly what I was looking for in a sweet tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
Just too sweet for my tastes-- I used 1 cup of sugar but it was still too sweet!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
The whole family loved it! Didn't think it was too sweet. Just skipped boiling the second time to avoid cracking the glass, after reading other reviews, and it turned out great! Will definately make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
I like this recipe but I had to make a couple of changes for my crew. I run ten cups of water through the coffee maker drop the tea bags in, shut the coffee maker off and let the tea brew for about an hour and a half. We like the stronger tea flavor. I also cut the sugar down to one and a half cups. Other than that I follow the rest of the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Very good tea. As for all the complaints about too much sugar, I think that's more just a matter of taste. I was practically raised on VERY sweet tea, and this was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
This tea is great but I tweaked it a little, I took the 2 cups of sugar put it in a sauce pan and added 2 cups of water to it. Then brought it to a boil, stir until the sugar dissolves, let it cool and you have simple syrup. I store mine in a quart jar, it doesn't have to be refrigerated. Make the awesome tea as directed, chill and when you are ready to serve let everyone add their own simple syrup to their liking with some lemon. You don't have to worry about the sugar being too sweet or not enough. I make lemonade by the glass and use the ss, it works very well. A northern girl born and bred who now lives in Tennessee and loves it. It's a 5 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pontiac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grimsley, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States