Good Ol' Alabama Sweet Tea Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
This how I've been making my swet tea for years. 3-2-1. 3 family size tea bags, 2c sugar, 1 quart water. I bring the water just to a boil turn off the heat and add tea bags. After removing I dissolve the sugar in the hot tea and pour the 1 quart of liquid into a 1/2 gallon or gallon container filled with ice. Those who say its too sweet; you serve iced tea over a glasss full of ice so it dilutes it quite a bit. If you cut the sugar too much in the beginning it will be very diluted by the time it gets to the glass
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lolita Contreras Murrah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Oh my...I'm from Mississippi and I even think this is way too much sugar. It tastes great with one cup! Other than that, its a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I cut the sugar to 1 and 1/4 cup and added it to the tea in the pot, then added 2 caps of lemon juice. I let it come to room temp, then poured the mixture over lemon slices and chilled in the fridge for 1 hour. I served at a party and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I made this for a friend's wedding and her new in-laws were from Tennesse. They were all impressed and said it tasted very authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 7 Garcias

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Provincetown, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
I'm from the South and this is a good recipe. However, I would recommend cutting back on the sugar. I use 1 and 1/2 cups at the very most. If you get cloudy tea, try letting the steeped tea cool for about 30 minutes before stirring it into the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I live in Colorado, and have loved sweet tea ever since my friend from Tennessee made me try some of hers. She moved back recently and I have been craving some real southern style sweet tea, and this was exactly what I have been looking for! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
Just like my Maw-maw's sweet tea! Use Luzianne tea bags for the best sweet tea ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JGNULL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Van Buren, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2010
great tea! I make this every week and take a couple of bottles to wok with me. I did however cut down on the sugar to 1-1/4 cups
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
this is a good recipe, however, you forgot the LEMON! add the juice of about 6 good lemons and that's will make it better. also, i don't put ice in the pitcher - it dilutes it too much. if you pour the hot tea into a glass full of ice cubes, it's not too sweet - it's JUST right. add a sprig of mint, and you're really cooking with hot grease!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
I am a student at bennett and I have to do a how to paper meaning I have to do a paper saying how to make something. And I have to make it! So thankyou so much for having this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States