Good Ol' Alabama Sweet Tea Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
I followed the advice of others, and reduced the sugar to 1 1/2c. It was still VERY sweet, but the tea flavor was the perfect strength. Next time I will go with 1 1/4c sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colonie, New York, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
Personally, I'm not a fan of Iced Tea. But last summer I told some friends who was relocating from another city that I would take care of lunch for their moving crew. I knew that several in the group liked tea, so I thought I'd give it a try. I've made it several times since. I've always used the non-flavored tea bags, so I slice a lemon and put the lemon slices in the tea to add a little flavor. My Dad is Diabetic and loves Iced Tea - so for our Father's Day cookout last year I substituted the Sugar with Splenda, so that he could enjoy a glass of Sweet Tea - and it again turned out great. (according to him) I won't use any other recipe or canned mix again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
being from the south myself, a lot of people don't know that TRUE southern sweet tea, is just that, sweet...and that's just way it should be....this recipe is absolutely perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pcook67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spicewood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
This is Alabama diabetic coma tea... the best anyone can have... no where in the world can touch the sweet tea makin from Bama... good recipe... not for the faint of heart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
This tea was wonderful but I did cut the sugar to a little over one cup. The only problem I had was when I poured the boiling water into the glass pitcher it cracked. Thinking it was an old pitcher I bought a new one and the same thing happen again. So I now disolve the sugar in the pan of hot tea and when that cools I pour it into a glass pitcher. NOTE: I only use a stainless steel pan to make my tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
182 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATWEIGAND
Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
THIS IS SIMPLY THE BEST SWEET TEA THIS SIDE OF THE SOUTH!! I MAKE THIS FOR ALL MY FAMILY GET-TO-GETHERS WE ALL LOVE IT!VERY SIMPLE TO MAKE.THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
I find this tea to sweet I used 1 cup sugar and it turned out just the right sweetness and I used a tea made for iced tea that does not cloud up a day after it was made. I make mine with a Mr. Coffee ice tea maker and put the sugar in the pitcher that the tea is making in then stir, add to another picture and add water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Living In: Phenix City, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
If this is what sweet tea tastes like, I'm glad I live in Washington state! This is tooth curling sweet. If you cut the sugar, then it really can't be called sweet tea, but that's what needs to be done to make this drinkable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
Anyone in the Souoth knows that sweet tea is the ONLY tea! However 2 cups of sugar for 1/2 gallon of tea is TOO much.(You don't want syrup) Cut the sugar by half, at least and you will have good tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
Love love love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STAMPIN426

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States