Good Ol' Alabama Sweet Tea Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
Just too sweet for my tastes-- I used 1 cup of sugar but it was still too sweet!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
The whole family loved it! Didn't think it was too sweet. Just skipped boiling the second time to avoid cracking the glass, after reading other reviews, and it turned out great! Will definately make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
I like this recipe but I had to make a couple of changes for my crew. I run ten cups of water through the coffee maker drop the tea bags in, shut the coffee maker off and let the tea brew for about an hour and a half. We like the stronger tea flavor. I also cut the sugar down to one and a half cups. Other than that I follow the rest of the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Very good tea. As for all the complaints about too much sugar, I think that's more just a matter of taste. I was practically raised on VERY sweet tea, and this was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
This tea is great but I tweaked it a little, I took the 2 cups of sugar put it in a sauce pan and added 2 cups of water to it. Then brought it to a boil, stir until the sugar dissolves, let it cool and you have simple syrup. I store mine in a quart jar, it doesn't have to be refrigerated. Make the awesome tea as directed, chill and when you are ready to serve let everyone add their own simple syrup to their liking with some lemon. You don't have to worry about the sugar being too sweet or not enough. I make lemonade by the glass and use the ss, it works very well. A northern girl born and bred who now lives in Tennessee and loves it. It's a 5 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pontiac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grimsley, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
As a "southern girl" I love some sweet tea! I gave this a 4 star because it's a little heavy on the sugar. I use about a cup and a quarter of sugar instead and I use lemon and orange slices too, Yum-yum! I am so glad that the rest of the country is now enjoying what we "southerners" have always known is a delight......sweet refreshing tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Scott Air Force Base, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Personally i like Luzianne(maybe because that is what my Grandmother uses in Mississippi) but i like to add an orange slice, it gives it a little different flavor to mix things up from time to time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
I am from Texas and you can get the same excellent results by boiling 3 cups of water in the microwave with 4 (Luzianne is the best tea) family size tea bags. Let steep for a few minutes, longer if you like your tea strong. Put 1 - 1 1/2 cups of sugar per gallon of tea in a pitcher (More if you like it really sweet). Remove and squeeze tea bags. Pour hot tea over sugar and stir until dissolved. Add water to fill pitcher. I add cold water from my fridge, not from the tap, as it will make it too frothy. Everyone LOVES this tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baylorlana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Cleburne, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Having been born and raised in Alabama I have always considered my mother's sweet tea to be the best in the world. But she does not re-boil her tea, after steeping, and only uses one cup of sugar per half gallon. And her tea is plenty sweet...in more ways than one! She also says that chilling the tea, before it has cooled to room temperature, will make it cloudy. So, I would not want to add the ice to the pitcher. Give it a little while to cool, then pour over ice. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blondesmommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
THIS TEA IS WONDERFUL...MY SON LIKES IT SUPER SWEET BUT FOR ME I CUT THE SUGAR TO 1 1/2 CUPS.. I ADDED A SPRIG OF FRESH MINT FROM THE GARDEN AND IT WAS WONDERFUL. ENJOY..... NORTHERNERS DON'T KNOW WHAT THEY ARE MISSING!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States