Good Ol' Alabama Sweet Tea Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
The people being critical are not following the directions. As M TUBB states, 2 cups sugar is too much for a 1/2 gallon. The recipe makes 1 GALLON, not 1/2. You use 1/2 gallon water then add water at the end to fill the gallon jug. Please be mindful of what you are doing before you criticize
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Delicious! I generally use less sugar than called for. Everyone loves this tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Whoa!! Way too much sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dhumphrys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I use 1 1/2 cups sugar to 2 gallons of tea and it is plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
For those of you giving lesser ratings because of the sweetness, did you miss the part where it said "Southern" sweet tea? As a Southern girl, born and raised, I EXPECT it to me almost unbearably sweet. This tea was perfect. Thank you, poster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Use it all the time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
WAY too much sugar. Needs to be toned down in a big way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Yamamoto

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cascade, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
My boyfriend is a NC native and loves his sweet tea. The only change I made was I added less cold water to the final step, about 1.5 cups instead of 3. I only get about 3 qts of sweet tea total. As soon as I am finished making it I put it immediately in the fridge. This is also very good with lemonade to make awesome Arnold Palmer's! The niece and nephews love those.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Love super sweet tea so I did use the amount of sugar called for..yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Note: this recipe is for a gallon not a 1/2 gallon...married to an Alabama boy and this ratio is right for Alabama Sweet Tea. (2c to the gallon). Interestingly, this is the same ratio for Kool-Aid and McDonalds Sweet Tea. Another thing is the importance of mixing the sugar in with the HOT tea then chilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States