Good Ol' Alabama Sweet Tea Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
THIS TEA IS WONDERFUL...MY SON LIKES IT SUPER SWEET BUT FOR ME I CUT THE SUGAR TO 1 1/2 CUPS.. I ADDED A SPRIG OF FRESH MINT FROM THE GARDEN AND IT WAS WONDERFUL. ENJOY..... NORTHERNERS DON'T KNOW WHAT THEY ARE MISSING!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
I make this tea all the time using the same recipe and I change it just a little I put in some dice peaches and less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
I use Splenda instead of sugar and also cut it to 1 cup. I also use decaf tea. This is great for the grandkids who think they are special to have "Sweet Tea"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
I used 1/2 cup of Splenda (I haven not used sugar for years) and added lemon juice, about four lemons. My cousin warned me never to order iced tea if I travel south because they serve it unsweetened and without lemon. Weird. I've never met anyone that drinks it without sugar and lemon. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
Excellent tea with less sugar. Easier to steep the tea in a tea pot with a lid. Fewer tea bags are needed with this method. Steeping with a lid on makes a stronger tea. The best way to prevent a glass pitcher from breaking when adding the boiling water, is to put a metal knife or other metal utensil in the pitcher first. My mother always did this and the pitcher will not break. Or, you could use a pyrex pitcher.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
This is a great recipe honest-to-goodness Southern recipe, but as everyone else said - it's way too much sugar. With half the amount of sugar it still tastes wonderful. I like to use raw cane sugar (turbinado) instead of white sugar; it tastes better and isn't processed as much. If you add lime instead of lemon it tastes almost exactly like "Arizona Iced Tea."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meezermex

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elberta, Alabama, USA
Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
Sweet Tea the way it was meant to be! I noticed some of the other reviewers mentioned that they had trouble when pouring the hot tea into a glass pitcher. To avoid this, there are a few different things one can try. My Mom and Grandma both use ceramic pitchers that they bought in the NC mountains...the glazed clay pitchers don't break as easily as their glass counterparts, and can be ordered online these days (though a trip to the mountains to go pottery shopping is always fun!) Or, if you prefer, you can add the sugar during the boiling process, and then SLOWLY pour the tea over a pitcher full of ice, thus cooling it as it goes in, and eliminate the need for the extra water! Such a fantastic recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coleman Bell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Gables, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
super sweet and really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
Someone said it was too much sugar for 1/2 gallon of tea. It isn't supposed to be just 1/2 gal when finished. You are supposed to make the tea with 1/2 gallon water and THEN once the tea is done, fill it up the rest of the way---to one gallon--- with water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silsbee, Texas, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
I am a pro at making the perfect sweet tea, thanks to my grandmother. She makes hers sweeter than mine and she uses about 2 cups. For the avg sweet tea you need a cup and a half of sugar - any more it's too sweet and any less it just is not sweet enough. Also, I use 4 tea bags and I put them in a pot of water, bring it to a boil and then turn off the eye and let it cool a little. Then I add the brewed tea to ice and sugar in the pitcher. Works perfectly every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States