Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
You should be ashamed of yourself. Family recipes are suppose to be just that, kept in the family. But I'm fo sho glad you shared this one. This is what gumbo is suppose to be.Just the right amount of kick but not to spicy. This will now be passed on down to my family. Thanks Doc!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
526 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I was looking for an authentic gumbo recipe and I found it. I've cooked for a long time and try to follow a recipe exactly the first time I make it. As is, this is a great recipe! I did add a little more Cajun seasoning and cayenne pepper the next day since we like things with "heat". My wife said that I outdid myself. Thank you dailyrecipedoctor and your mother and grandmother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
421 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
My family's favorite gumbo. It's fabulous over rice, but if you add two or three cups of water you've got the best thick soup type gumbo you'll ever taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
357 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
5 STARS ALL THE WAY!!! But I must say this the roux is the KEY, if you don't make this right you can hang it up. 1st things 1st, to get the roux the deep brown that's authentic to New Orleans style it take WAAAAAAAAAAY longer than 20-30 minutes. Lets double it, it takes 1 hour & using a wisk & constantly stirring on medium low heat. I did adjust the heat to high when starting but was stir quickly like a madman then reduce heat to medium low. A new orleans native told me the darker you get that roux the better. 2nd - YOU MUST USE FILE POWDER .... it really brings in the flavor and authenticity of New Orleans Creole taste. Now it was hard to find but you can get it at any health food store some say (Whole Foods) but I got mine down street at Sevenanda health food store. Yes this recipe is THE BOMB!! and it does take 3 hours & 40 minutes... almost 4 hours depending on how long you stir your roux, I did at least an hour & 10 minutes. Now after adding the seafood, you can remove the whole pot from the eye because the Gumbo will be so hot it will cook your shrimp, scallops, & crab meat. I didn't add my seafood till the last 5 minutes while on the stove then I removed it from the stove. Let it cooled down naturally , then put in the fridge served it w/ rice & corn muffins... EVERYONE LOVE IT!! I made a huge pot of it in my 8 quart Dutch Oven. I'm so proud this came out so perfect since it was my 1st attempt to making gumbo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I know little about Creole cooking and this is the real deal. I had to add a teaspoon of cayenne simply to add a bit more heat and I used 1 cup of bacon drippings vice 3/4 cup. I doubled the garlic as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Photo by mellie18_99
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
THis is one of the best gumbo's I've ever had and my family is from the south so that is saying a lot, just dont tell my mother or grandmother. I added shrimp, sausage, chicken and crab meat. I doubled the recipe and brought over to my inlaws for a family dinner and they all loved it... This will be our gumbo recipe for years to come..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Merci beaucoup, Madame. Cést délicieux.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bussum, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Ok. I am a 27 year old straight male that does little to no cooking. I recently got engaged so i wanted to learn a few dishes and this was my first. When i tell you that everyone LOVED this gumbo i mean EVERYONE. I now have been asked to make it for a superbowl party. The recipt was simple and very easy to make. I made a couple very small changes but that was my choice. I didnt use the bacon drippings because i burn the first roix i tryed to make ( not much a suprise) and i didnt feel like going to get more bacon so i used butter worked great and got it right the first time. The store was sold out of andouille so i went with the next best thing for texans Earl Camble hot links. Honestly Liked it better then andouille and no one noticed the change. I added shredded chicken breast and used crab legs instead of the lumb crab meat presentation just looks better with the crab legs hanging out the pot and bowls . Other then that followed it to the T and it was the BEST GUMBO I HAVE EVER HAD!!!!!! Thanks for sharing this one. And you should be ashamed of yourself for giving away that secret, But im sure glad you did.!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
There are a few differences - sugar, vinegar in the okra.... both sound like good ideas... it is so very similar to the way I was taught by my Louisiana mother-in-law... Got to be good! I'll be checking on these changes and let you know if I change my mind about them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
This was the first time I have ever made Gumbo and let me tell you, this was the best I've ever had anywhere!! We ALL loved it!! Served it over rice with some sweet cornbread on the side. HEAVEN!! Thank your momma and grand momma for us!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shawa22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States