Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Tried this recipe to celebrate New Year's (bringing in 2014). One word, EXCELLENT!!! I am from a family that has Louisiana roots. I am no stranger to gumbo as my mom makes one that is also excellent. However, I enjoy trying different versions. I am so glad I tried this one!! Everyone in my family enjoyed it - including my mother!! This is for sure a keeper!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I ended up trying 3/4 c bacon drippings and had to add another cup of flour. I was following another poster's suggestion to cook roux to very dark color and it ended up bitter :( Glad I did not add the expensive ingredients. Disappointed in time spent, but I will try again with 1/4 c bacon drippings tomorrow and research cooking roux.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Thanks a million, truly a great recipe. I have cooked many many gumbo recipes. This one is one of the best I have followed. I did incorporate a few others in with this one. First, it took about an hour to make the roux at a lower heat in order to make a medium dark. Second,when adding the sausage, I added about a half a cup of home made tasso. I cut the Tabasco in half, because the extra spice in the tasso. Third, I cooked 2.5 lbs of snow crab in the 3 quarts of water, discarded only one quart and added 1 quart fresh water. Then followed with bullion. Authentic taste, one. .. If not the best I've made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Thank you sooo much for sharing this phenomenal recipe! I made it last year for New Years and my family loved it! Mind you, it was my first time attempting gumbo. It will be a tradition from now on, I'm excited about making it again this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I live in New Orleans and I wanted to cook gumbo like I should know how to cook because I live in NOLA. This was perfect. I used brown rice instead of regular flour to make it gluten free. Everyone I served it to absolutely loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
My hubby makes this recipe every Christmas! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tilli King Horsley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I made this Gumbo last Christmas and my family loved it.... thanks a bunch..........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Love LOVE this recipe! Will keep it for sure! My fave is shrimp and sausage gumbo! Had never made gumbo..even though I come from a family of Cajuns . Have made this recipe several times already...everyone LOVES it ! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoLyJa
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Thanks for being so generous and sharing! Definitely is a keeper. Will be a must for my holiday table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I have ate gumbo many times but never tried to make it myself. Watching the video made it seem very easy so I tried it, this was the best decision I made all week on things to cook.My family and friends loved it and can't wait until I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States