Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 17, 2013
I made this for the first time for a big crawfish boil that I was hosting. We didn't change a thing. Our party guests loved it. Many said it was the best gumbo they had ever eaten. Others, who were hesitant due to their fears of seafood and/or spicy foods, eventually did and also loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
This was my very first time making gumbo and my guests who had come over for a King Party (lucky me got the baby in the King cake a few weeks previously) loved it! Some of these guests were born and raised Louisianans and they gave their approval as well! The flavor and consistency were very good, HOWEVER: I disagree that the roux should be added to HOT broth--it should be added to room temp. broth instead!! Hot should never be added to hot--it will have trouble mixing together which is what happened the first time around--the roux just floated on top and never consolidated with the broth. (Yes--I made this 2 times before the event!) I also cooked the roux until just a light to moderate caramel color, NOT DARK! The veggies were added and stirred in, NOT sauteed b/c of the danger of burning the roux w/ continued cooking. On my stove, it took a minimum of 40-50 minutes to safely get to the color I wanted for the roux. Next time w/ these precautions, I can make it ONCE! LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
Great recipe! I cut the recipe in half. Only changes I made was I used about 1 lb chicken thighs in place of the lump crab meat (didn't want to pay what they wanted to charge for the crab meat). Also, I like to freeze soups and stews in individual servings to take to work. I haven't been to New Orleans in so long, I don't recall what their gumbo was like, but this is by far better than anything they have around the Clearwater, Fl area. This freezes well and tastes as good, if not better, after frozen. I will no longer be looking for a good gumbo recipe - this one is all I need. Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CBob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Great recipe. My family loved it. I added more heat as we like a little spice. I thought it would be a great keeper and my family wants it more often than I am willing to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
First time i have cooked gumbo, I followed this recipe onion cayenne pepper oooooooowe!!!! This was so good a must try!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
Great recipe! I didn't have the recommended time allotment for this recipe but was dying to try it anyway and it was still fantastic! I simply shortcut the later simmer stages. The roux I obviously had to make time to complete but all in all, I only simmered less than an hour. Makes enough to freeze leftover-----and it froze great, too! We've eaten the frozen portion and it was just as tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
This is delicious. I used chicken breast and sausage for the proteins, and after I made the roux I threw it all in the slow cooker for a total of 9 hours. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
I tried this recipe last night, it was definitely a success. I usually like a more of a seasoned taste, but it was still ideal for a various group of people (diabetics included). I did turn up the heat to cook it a little faster & I used crab-legs, but this is a great recipe. Its was soooo much better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
OMG - YUM!!!! I followed the recipe exactly except I used rice flour because I can't have gluten. SOOOOOOOOO good and flavorful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jstorment

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Not bad, but recipe needs tweaking, next time I make I will use butter instead of bacon fat, and less liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nygirlatheart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uniondale, New York, USA
Living In: Deltona, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States