Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
I have tried this recipe, it is perfect. Every step exact.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by twinkletoes
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
We LOVE this recipe!!! This gumbo is truly better than the gumbo at the Gumbo Shop in New Orleans. I pretty much followed the recipe except I added clams, scallops, shrimp,& a seafood mix. Turned out wonderfully. It's true what everyone says, this is really about the roux and the file powder. Take the time and do the roux right. It is worth it in the end. A big thank you to daily recipe doctor for sharing this fabulous recipe. We really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twinkletoes
Home Town: Harlingen, Texas, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
Outstanding. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
This is fabulous! It was my first attempt at gumbo, and after 4 YouTube videos on making the roux I was ready for the time it took. But each of those suggested 1 to 1 oil and flour so I did that. DON'T. This recipe is correct. By personal preference I spooned off floating fat that the sausage gave up, so was sorry to have also used more fat for the roux. (My fat was a mixture of bacon grease and Crisco.) Also, the fish market didn't have crab so I used shrimp only. Was fab. I served this with a scoop of stone ground grits that were cooked in a crock pot with chicken stock and a little heavy cream. Salad of orange/lettuce/fennel with light orange dressing (found it on AllRecipes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
We have made this twice and love it, first of all, it makes a lot. We ate some, had leftovers the next day and froze some. It freezes well. We called it our $50 gumbo because crab meat, andouille and catfish (which we added) all are expensive. It's worth it though, tastes great,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noel Vickers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
I absolutely love this recipe! I will certainly use it again. After eating true gumbo in New Orleans as well as Memphis this is the only recipe I have found that is even close to the real thing! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
Great recipe for a first timer! The roux is the trickiest part, not hard but time consuming so once you get that the rest comes together great! We made this exactly like the recipe and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ami Zimmerman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
I have made this delicious gumbo twice, with very minor changes: beef broth instead of bouillon cubes and water, addition of about a cup of chopped rotisserie chicken, red and orange pepper instead of green, and I left all the vegetables on the coarser side vs. finely chopped. I had to add a little butter to the bacon grease in the roux since I didn't have quite enough of the grease. However, the bacon grease is extremely important for authentic flavor, so be sure not to skip it altogether. Also, have a loaf of French bread on the table so everyone can soak up every last tasty drop. Best gumbo ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAUNLK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loudon, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chris
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
This is awesome! I added some mushrooms to mine. EXCELLENT RECIPE!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jeremy Kaufman
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
Fantastic! Added shrimp and crab at last minute like some suggested. Didn't use file powder and supplemented butter flavored crisco when I ran out of bacon fat. Used chicken broth and a bay leaf to cook rice like Emeril suggests for rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeremy Kaufman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States