Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rose
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
This is the best gumbo I've ever had. I like to make large batches for guests and everyone has always been impressed. Often, they'll tell me later that they ordered gumbo at a restaurant and were disappointed because it wasn't half as good as mine. ;) When I make it, I use a couple alterations to suit my needs and tastes. Firstly, I make the roux with 1/2 cup cornstarch instead of 1 cup flour. I do this to make the recipe gluten-free, since I have Celiac disease. (Note for other Celiacs: make sure the Cajun seasoning you use is gluten-free.) If I don't have bacon drippings on hand, I substitute with butter, which is also delicious. I also always use fresh diced tomatoes instead of canned ones -- a personal preference. Other than these exceptions, I follow the recipe to a T and it's amazing! Try it; you'll be so, so glad you did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
This is now MY family gumbo too! I have a big family and this pleases everyone!!!! We love it and we thank you so much for sharing! Although, I must admit, I add deep fried crunchy okra to the top before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Wonderful recipe! I'm a Texan but my husband is from Louisiana and he loved it. I sliced boiled eggs and put them on top of each bowl of gumbo. Cooked roux longer and used a tad more Tony Chachere. Used fresh okra from my garden. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Alvin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Annie
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I used this recipe to make gumbo for the first time. It came out perfect! Just like how true gumbo suppose to taste like. Thank you so much for the awesome recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
It was my first attempt at gumbo....absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Better than awesome! followed everything to the tee, added 3 minced cloves of garlic, tossed fresh shrimp into a steamer pan and dipped it into the brew for 1 minute to cook. removed and let each person dish their rice, crab meat and shrimp into their bowl before spooning gumbo onto the pile. this way the rice and seafood never overcooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I'm so happy I made sooo much! 20 servings for 2 people. I jarred and froze broth before adding the shrimp, crab and okra. Dinner tonight and 4 future nights! YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jpaul

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Oh my my my! This was a recipe for success! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Yes, I don't know how old your grandma & mother are. But I am sure the bacon fat they used, was not from the same pork we buy today. Also I am sure as true cajuns, they would have made their own stock. Not beef bullion cubes. Although it is a fantastic recipe, I think making your own stock would only improve the taste. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
This gumbo was fantastic! There are some ingredients in here that are a bit difficult to come by depending on your region... No bacon fat, so I fried up a few strips of bacon and used melted butter to fill in the rest of the volume. No okra, so I threw in about a half a can of Southern-Style green beans during the last 20 minutes or so of simmering. By choice I also used smoked andouille rather than fresh, and that I also threw in during the last 20 minutes or so. I stored in the refrigerator overnight and reheated the following night for a quick Mardi Gras dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States