Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
This was the first time I have ever made Gumbo and let me tell you, this was the best I've ever had anywhere!! We ALL loved it!! Served it over rice with some sweet cornbread on the side. HEAVEN!! Thank your momma and grand momma for us!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shawa22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I cut the recipe in half, eliminated the file (don't know what it is and couldn't find it) and added 1 1/3 C rice at the end. The consistency was perfect! I also didn't use the okra, but instead added a heaping tablespoon of cornstarch. Used a can of crabmeat. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
outstanding recipe!! a little time consuming, but well worth the effort! might be a little thin, I added a 1-1/2 cups of flour for roux. other than that about as authentic as you can get! will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Excellent gumbo! Everyone loved it! It is not very spicy which is the way I like it! If you like more of a kick, increase the cajun seasoning. It was perfect for us as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by thcit
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
What a GREAT recipe! Thanks for the tip on making the roux...otherwise i may have burned it. I stirred constantly til it got nice and dark. It makes a big batch, but you'll need it. Everyone LOVED it...even my picky eaters. I topped it off with a scoop of rice and served it with a Hurricane in an LSU cup. (see picture) I will FOR SURE be making this again! Thanks so much for sharing such a family treasure! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I know little about Creole cooking and this is the real deal. I had to add a teaspoon of cayenne simply to add a bit more heat and I used 1 cup of bacon drippings vice 3/4 cup. I doubled the garlic as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
My roommates and I are addicted to this! It is a staple recipe in any household! SO flavorful! At the end of every semester, we make this, and add everything leftover that we have so we won't have to store any food, and boy it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by operaphantom2005

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
This is the best gumbo I have ever made, and probably the best I have ever eaten. Only thing I did different was make a stock out of my shrimp shells which ended up being 2 quarts, and that is all the liquid I used. Just added the bouillon to the shrimp stock. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I tried this and we loved it. It was the first time I ever made gumbo. Just the two of us so I froze some and shared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
This was awesome! It took some prep work but so worth the work. Followed the recipe exactly only added more shrimp and sausage! Yummy... even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JackieNP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States