Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
There are a few differences - sugar, vinegar in the okra.... both sound like good ideas... it is so very similar to the way I was taught by my Louisiana mother-in-law... Got to be good! I'll be checking on these changes and let you know if I change my mind about them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
You should be ashamed of yourself. Family recipes are suppose to be just that, kept in the family. But I'm fo sho glad you shared this one. This is what gumbo is suppose to be.Just the right amount of kick but not to spicy. This will now be passed on down to my family. Thanks Doc!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
570 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Merci beaucoup, Madame. Cést délicieux.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bussum, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I was looking for an authentic gumbo recipe and I found it. I've cooked for a long time and try to follow a recipe exactly the first time I make it. As is, this is a great recipe! I did add a little more Cajun seasoning and cayenne pepper the next day since we like things with "heat". My wife said that I outdid myself. Thank you dailyrecipedoctor and your mother and grandmother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
449 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mellie18_99
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
THis is one of the best gumbo's I've ever had and my family is from the south so that is saying a lot, just dont tell my mother or grandmother. I added shrimp, sausage, chicken and crab meat. I doubled the recipe and brought over to my inlaws for a family dinner and they all loved it... This will be our gumbo recipe for years to come..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
This was really good, but the next time I make it I will add a little more pepper sauce and Cajun seasoning, and only 2 bay leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anya Howell

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sulphur Springs, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
My family's favorite gumbo. It's fabulous over rice, but if you add two or three cups of water you've got the best thick soup type gumbo you'll ever taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
376 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
The perfect Gumbo recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Drouin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Absolutely delicious. Well worth the effort. Enough said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
This is a very good recipe. My personal preference, though, is using a good homemade stock instead of bouillon. I tried it both ways, and the stock makes a noticeable difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States