Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
This recipe is FANTASTIC!!! This is why I love love love allrecipes because there is no way I would have know how to cook gumbo this good. It comes out with the perfect amount of smoky, spicy, deliciousness. With the exception of being able to use butter instead on bacon grease, follow the recipe to the T the first time you make it. THEN see if you want to tweak anything to your family liking. Trust me ya won't be disappointed. Next time I make mine, I think I will leave out the salt and tabasco until the very end because the sausage I used was quite spicy on it's own. But my DH adored this and I'm eating a bowl now so, no complaints. Also, use the andouille sausages, they are a MUST! Thank you so much for sharing your family recipe, it will be a staple recipe of mine forever now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CourtneyJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Made it twice now, sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
I've eaten a lot of gumbo over the years and this is the best recipe I've ever tried. I plan on adding more shrimp next time but that is the only change I would make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
My husband and I hosted a seafood boil for the 4th of July. I made gumbo using this recipe and everyone LOVED it! Thank you for sharing. I will DEFINITELY make this gumbo again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Great recipe with the roux from scratch! I used half the bacon drippings and added the canola oil to compensate. Turned out great! Making my second one tonight with crawfish and some crabs we brought back from Maryland!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
This was an excellent recipe. I'll just say I stole the show.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
So good.... I never made this before so I closely followed this and it turned out wonderful! Thank you so much for this great recipe! My whole neighborhood got to enjoy this since it made so much next time I will only make 1/2 of the recipe,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
thank you for sharing. (*_~)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
For those of you that like chicken in their gumbo, like I do, here is a tip. Brown your boneless skinless chicken thighs in olive oil, butter and minced garlic first. Then add to the pot after cutting them into thick strips. It keep them so juicy and alot more flavor. This recipe is the real deal. Don't forget the file gumbo at the very end, it makes a big difference. Sorry to hear that so many can't find file gumbo & okra. Not having access to okra is a felony in most states and a mortal sin in all the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
I'm from New Orleans and I dare to say this is better than my fathers recipe! So good! I let the roux stir for about an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deelish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States