Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Great recipe with the roux from scratch! I used half the bacon drippings and added the canola oil to compensate. Turned out great! Making my second one tonight with crawfish and some crabs we brought back from Maryland!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
This was an excellent recipe. I'll just say I stole the show.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
So good.... I never made this before so I closely followed this and it turned out wonderful! Thank you so much for this great recipe! My whole neighborhood got to enjoy this since it made so much next time I will only make 1/2 of the recipe,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
thank you for sharing. (*_~)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
For those of you that like chicken in their gumbo, like I do, here is a tip. Brown your boneless skinless chicken thighs in olive oil, butter and minced garlic first. Then add to the pot after cutting them into thick strips. It keep them so juicy and alot more flavor. This recipe is the real deal. Don't forget the file gumbo at the very end, it makes a big difference. Sorry to hear that so many can't find file gumbo & okra. Not having access to okra is a felony in most states and a mortal sin in all the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
I'm from New Orleans and I dare to say this is better than my fathers recipe! So good! I let the roux stir for about an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deelish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
I made this for the first time for a big crawfish boil that I was hosting. We didn't change a thing. Our party guests loved it. Many said it was the best gumbo they had ever eaten. Others, who were hesitant due to their fears of seafood and/or spicy foods, eventually did and also loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
This was my very first time making gumbo and my guests who had come over for a King Party (lucky me got the baby in the King cake a few weeks previously) loved it! Some of these guests were born and raised Louisianans and they gave their approval as well! The flavor and consistency were very good, HOWEVER: I disagree that the roux should be added to HOT broth--it should be added to room temp. broth instead!! Hot should never be added to hot--it will have trouble mixing together which is what happened the first time around--the roux just floated on top and never consolidated with the broth. (Yes--I made this 2 times before the event!) I also cooked the roux until just a light to moderate caramel color, NOT DARK! The veggies were added and stirred in, NOT sauteed b/c of the danger of burning the roux w/ continued cooking. On my stove, it took a minimum of 40-50 minutes to safely get to the color I wanted for the roux. Next time w/ these precautions, I can make it ONCE! LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
Great recipe! I cut the recipe in half. Only changes I made was I used about 1 lb chicken thighs in place of the lump crab meat (didn't want to pay what they wanted to charge for the crab meat). Also, I like to freeze soups and stews in individual servings to take to work. I haven't been to New Orleans in so long, I don't recall what their gumbo was like, but this is by far better than anything they have around the Clearwater, Fl area. This freezes well and tastes as good, if not better, after frozen. I will no longer be looking for a good gumbo recipe - this one is all I need. Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CBob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Great recipe. My family loved it. I added more heat as we like a little spice. I thought it would be a great keeper and my family wants it more often than I am willing to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States