Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
My hubby makes this recipe every Christmas! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tilli King Horsley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I made this Gumbo last Christmas and my family loved it.... thanks a bunch..........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Love LOVE this recipe! Will keep it for sure! My fave is shrimp and sausage gumbo! Had never made gumbo..even though I come from a family of Cajuns . Have made this recipe several times already...everyone LOVES it ! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoLyJa
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Thanks for being so generous and sharing! Definitely is a keeper. Will be a must for my holiday table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I have ate gumbo many times but never tried to make it myself. Watching the video made it seem very easy so I tried it, this was the best decision I made all week on things to cook.My family and friends loved it and can't wait until I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Being from New Orleans this is by far one of the best recipes I've found,I tried it for the 1st time, it was a great hit everyone raved the gumbo and wanted to know how I made it . Thanks for sharing the secrets .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Al Ricketts

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
This is a fantastic recipe! I recently had some gumbo cooked from a friend's mother and it was so flavorful (very good!), so I searched online for a recipe. Sure enough, I came across yours and I love, love, love it! My company loved it too! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Goodness, this is a great recipe! I mean lawdy lawd! I made this gumbo last night for my family of 3. I was thinking that I would have too much gumbo left over since this recipe makes a good amount, so I planned to freeze some, but there was no need because GOOD GUMBO doesn't last long, no matter what. Well, at least not around my family. This was MY VERY FIRST TIME making gumbo, and this recipe is the reason I was able to make a masterpiece work of art! I gave some to my mom, grandma, my brother and sister-in-law, mother-in-law, and best friend. And guess what? After my husband, daughter, and I all had our helpings, there isn't much left at all. It's A SHAME this gumbo is so good. Now my family is requesting that I make gumbo again for Thanksgiving or Christmas, and maybe even New Years. Oh by the way, my husband was hesitant on me making gumbo since it was my first time. I sure did shut down his doubts with this recipe! I did not add okra, vinegar, or Worcestershire sauce. And the flavor was still outstanding. I also added a 14.5 ounce can of tomato sauce instead of 6 ounce, and this caused for a red gumbo bursting with flavor! This recipe is simple as long as you are patient with making the roux. I am very pleased that older women in my family were quite impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Menlo Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I was going up against my hubby's gumbo and didn't think I could compare with his. HA! Lawd have mercy, ya'll have come up with a total winner! The step about cooking the okra first in a bit of bacon grease and vinegar was new and different (did it anyway)! Loved the guy who likes to see the crab legs hanging over the edge of the bowls! This kind of comment is what makes Allrecipes the premier site for sharing recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Wow, just wow. This is an absolutely incredible recipe. The depth of flavour is amazing. Very authentic. Serve with Crystal hot sauce if you can find it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States