Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
super yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Poisson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westcliffe, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Looking for a great gumbo recipe? Stop looking and start cooking. I have made this several times now and every time I get rave reviews. One thing though be sure you have a really big pot as this will easily fill an 8 quart dutch oven to the brim. If you don't want to mess with tending the roux search the internet for "oven roux" and let your oven do the work for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I have cooked this recipe and I also took some of the advice from the reviews. With all of them combined this recipe was a hit for my family and friends. Thank you all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skillz
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Been using the recipe for a few years. Best gumbo ever!!! Happy you shared
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shalimar Taylor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookiechixchris
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I will never use another gumbo recipe ever again. This was amazing! Thank you so much for sharing!!!!'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
This recipe makes delicious gravy. Seriously, this gumbo is like gravy soup, and it's amazing. I fudged it: -coconut oil and margarine instead of bacon grease -no file powder or tomato sauce -only cooked roux for 30 minutes because i ran out of time -final cooking only 30 minutes, not 1 1/2 hours AND IT WAS STILL WONDERFUL, I definitely recommend this recipe. Just throw whatever meat/veg you have in, too, it'll be great ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
best gumbo ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Great recipe! I'm from the South and my family always makes gumbo without tomatoes. I was looking for a different recipe and am glad I found this one. It's delicious! A note about making a roux - stop working so hard! You can make it in the oven and it is perfection - thanks Alton Brown. Whisk 4 oz all purpose flour and 4 oz veg oil in a cast iron skillet, place in a 350 degree oven for 1 1/2 hours, stirring every half hour. It comes out nice and dark and DOES NOT BURN!!! Once you remove the roux from the oven, follow the recipe directions by adding the celery, bell pepper, etc. and continue with the recipe. You're welcome. ;~) Oh, and those who are shaming the person who submitted the recipe for giving away a family recipe, get over yourselves! The submitter never says it was a secret family recipe, just that it was never written down. We all share recipes our families love, and I am thankful this gumbo recipe was shared!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I have never rated a recipe before but this recipe deserve more than 5 stars. I lived in New Orleans for 2 years and I have been searching for a gumbo recipe that was as authentic as a what I tasted there. This is it. I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
This is a good basic recipe, however it should be made with a seafood stock rather than all the water and beef boullion cubes. Just take your shrimp shells and legs (I save them from other recipes also and freeze them so that I have a lot on hand), quarter an onion or 2, cut 3 stalks celery in thirds and add 4 quarts water. Simmer this for as long as possible (8 hours is best). Do it the day before and you will be ready to go. Also, do not add the shrimp and crab until the last 5 mins or so of cooking or they will be tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 253) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States