Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Thanks for being so generous and sharing! Definitely is a keeper. Will be a must for my holiday table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I have ate gumbo many times but never tried to make it myself. Watching the video made it seem very easy so I tried it, this was the best decision I made all week on things to cook.My family and friends loved it and can't wait until I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Being from New Orleans this is by far one of the best recipes I've found,I tried it for the 1st time, it was a great hit everyone raved the gumbo and wanted to know how I made it . Thanks for sharing the secrets .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Al Ricketts

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
This is a fantastic recipe! I recently had some gumbo cooked from a friend's mother and it was so flavorful (very good!), so I searched online for a recipe. Sure enough, I came across yours and I love, love, love it! My company loved it too! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Goodness, this is a great recipe! I mean lawdy lawd! I made this gumbo last night for my family of 3. I was thinking that I would have too much gumbo left over since this recipe makes a good amount, so I planned to freeze some, but there was no need because GOOD GUMBO doesn't last long, no matter what. Well, at least not around my family. This was MY VERY FIRST TIME making gumbo, and this recipe is the reason I was able to make a masterpiece work of art! I gave some to my mom, grandma, my brother and sister-in-law, mother-in-law, and best friend. And guess what? After my husband, daughter, and I all had our helpings, there isn't much left at all. It's A SHAME this gumbo is so good. Now my family is requesting that I make gumbo again for Thanksgiving or Christmas, and maybe even New Years. Oh by the way, my husband was hesitant on me making gumbo since it was my first time. I sure did shut down his doubts with this recipe! I did not add okra, vinegar, or Worcestershire sauce. And the flavor was still outstanding. I also added a 14.5 ounce can of tomato sauce instead of 6 ounce, and this caused for a red gumbo bursting with flavor! This recipe is simple as long as you are patient with making the roux. I am very pleased that older women in my family were quite impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Menlo Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I was going up against my hubby's gumbo and didn't think I could compare with his. HA! Lawd have mercy, ya'll have come up with a total winner! The step about cooking the okra first in a bit of bacon grease and vinegar was new and different (did it anyway)! Loved the guy who likes to see the crab legs hanging over the edge of the bowls! This kind of comment is what makes Allrecipes the premier site for sharing recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Wow, just wow. This is an absolutely incredible recipe. The depth of flavour is amazing. Very authentic. Serve with Crystal hot sauce if you can find it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Great recipe! Used butter, didn't have any bacon drippings. I used a can of Rotel tomatoes instead of stewed to kick up the heat.The roux makes this! Skipped the crab and substituted shredded chicken. Delicious, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica Cannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
This is a fantastic recipe but it is a bit time consuming, so I changed the cooking method to make it quicker since I am extremely busy! I made the roux until it was light caremel color, then added some beef broth, garlic onions and seasonings. You keep wisking continously until you have a thick looking gravy. I poured the mixture in the crockpot and added more liquid and the rest of the ingredients. I used hot smoked sausage and whole skinless/bonelss chicken breasts uncooked. I cooked it for about 4 hours on high, removed the chicken breasts and shredded the chicken, and added it back to the pot. I could not find file powder but used the rest of the spices listed. It was excellent! I cut the recipe in half and filled a 6 qt crockpot to the top! Everyone raved about it and it did nto take too long to make. Note: Don't skimp on the roux, you have to make the roux on the stove top then you can add to crockpot. It only took about 15 minutes to make the roux. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
This recipe is the BOMB! I did not pre-cook the okra, did not add crabmeat or file. Added a cup of white wine to the recipe and it was out of this world. I have found THE gumbo recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States