Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I made this for my better half as she's a gumbo consumption expert & critic. Was nervous but she loved it! Right color & flavor & I actually loved it also! Thanks!! It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I am from the Gulf Coast (Pensacola) and love gumbo, but have never made it. I did the research to find a recipe with a high rating and decided on this one to be my first. This recipe was wonderful!!!!! I did make a few substitutions and additions, though. Rather than 3 QTs water and beef bullion cubes I used 1 quart each of seafood and vegetable stock and 2 quarts of water. I needed more than the 3 quarts suggested because I added 3 diced chicken breasts (pan seared and then diced), 1 pound of lump crab meat, 1 pound of shrimp (peeled and deveined) and I doubled the sausage. My husband loves very hearty, meaty gumbo - so he absolutely LOVED this!! Thank you so much! I can't wait to make it again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Lorton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I was unimpressed. The took a lot of time and effort and had an overwhelming sausage flavor. I wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
A few years ago myself and I took a trip to New Orleans and we were fortunate to health authentic New Orleans gumbo this dish reminded me of the time when we were in New Orleans, it's a great dish! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Made this for my family today and it was a complete hit. Well worth the prep time. I too have experimented with several Gumbo recipes and this one tops them all. The best lesson learned is cooking the Okra with the vinegar; no slimy texture, very nice! I am looking forward to making this again for Mardi Gras! May even slip it in again before then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by farmand1
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Awesome!! Made it for New Years and everyone enjoyed....still eating it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Middletown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I was able to cut an hour off the simmering time by cooking the okra longer in the skillet and putting it in earlier. Don't change the rue! Work up a sweat and just do it. I make a stock with turkey carcass or ham bone then put the shrimp shells in there. Kicks it up a notch. Substitute stock for water but still add beef bouillon. Don't forget to make rice and serve with French Bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Tried this recipe to celebrate New Year's (bringing in 2014). One word, EXCELLENT!!! I am from a family that has Louisiana roots. I am no stranger to gumbo as my mom makes one that is also excellent. However, I enjoy trying different versions. I am so glad I tried this one!! Everyone in my family enjoyed it - including my mother!! This is for sure a keeper!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States