Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Thanks a million, truly a great recipe. I have cooked many many gumbo recipes. This one is one of the best I have followed. I did incorporate a few others in with this one. First, it took about an hour to make the roux at a lower heat in order to make a medium dark. Second,when adding the sausage, I added about a half a cup of home made tasso. I cut the Tabasco in half, because the extra spice in the tasso. Third, I cooked 2.5 lbs of snow crab in the 3 quarts of water, discarded only one quart and added 1 quart fresh water. Then followed with bullion. Authentic taste, one. .. If not the best I've made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Thank you sooo much for sharing this phenomenal recipe! I made it last year for New Years and my family loved it! Mind you, it was my first time attempting gumbo. It will be a tradition from now on, I'm excited about making it again this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I live in New Orleans and I wanted to cook gumbo like I should know how to cook because I live in NOLA. This was perfect. I used brown rice instead of regular flour to make it gluten free. Everyone I served it to absolutely loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
My hubby makes this recipe every Christmas! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I made this Gumbo last Christmas and my family loved it.... thanks a bunch..........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Love LOVE this recipe! Will keep it for sure! My fave is shrimp and sausage gumbo! Had never made gumbo..even though I come from a family of Cajuns . Have made this recipe several times already...everyone LOVES it ! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoLyJa
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Thanks for being so generous and sharing! Definitely is a keeper. Will be a must for my holiday table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I have ate gumbo many times but never tried to make it myself. Watching the video made it seem very easy so I tried it, this was the best decision I made all week on things to cook.My family and friends loved it and can't wait until I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Being from New Orleans this is by far one of the best recipes I've found,I tried it for the 1st time, it was a great hit everyone raved the gumbo and wanted to know how I made it . Thanks for sharing the secrets .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
This is a fantastic recipe! I recently had some gumbo cooked from a friend's mother and it was so flavorful (very good!), so I searched online for a recipe. Sure enough, I came across yours and I love, love, love it! My company loved it too! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States