Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
This is fabulous! It was my first attempt at gumbo, and after 4 YouTube videos on making the roux I was ready for the time it took. But each of those suggested 1 to 1 oil and flour so I did that. DON'T. This recipe is correct. By personal preference I spooned off floating fat that the sausage gave up, so was sorry to have also used more fat for the roux. (My fat was a mixture of bacon grease and Crisco.) Also, the fish market didn't have crab so I used shrimp only. Was fab. I served this with a scoop of stone ground grits that were cooked in a crock pot with chicken stock and a little heavy cream. Salad of orange/lettuce/fennel with light orange dressing (found it on AllRecipes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
We have made this twice and love it, first of all, it makes a lot. We ate some, had leftovers the next day and froze some. It freezes well. We called it our $50 gumbo because crab meat, andouille and catfish (which we added) all are expensive. It's worth it though, tastes great,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noel Vickers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
I absolutely love this recipe! I will certainly use it again. After eating true gumbo in New Orleans as well as Memphis this is the only recipe I have found that is even close to the real thing! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
Great recipe for a first timer! The roux is the trickiest part, not hard but time consuming so once you get that the rest comes together great! We made this exactly like the recipe and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ami Zimmerman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
I have made this delicious gumbo twice, with very minor changes: beef broth instead of bouillon cubes and water, addition of about a cup of chopped rotisserie chicken, red and orange pepper instead of green, and I left all the vegetables on the coarser side vs. finely chopped. I had to add a little butter to the bacon grease in the roux since I didn't have quite enough of the grease. However, the bacon grease is extremely important for authentic flavor, so be sure not to skip it altogether. Also, have a loaf of French bread on the table so everyone can soak up every last tasty drop. Best gumbo ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAUNLK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loudon, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chris
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
This is awesome! I added some mushrooms to mine. EXCELLENT RECIPE!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jeremy Kaufman
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
Fantastic! Added shrimp and crab at last minute like some suggested. Didn't use file powder and supplemented butter flavored crisco when I ran out of bacon fat. Used chicken broth and a bay leaf to cook rice like Emeril suggests for rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeremy Kaufman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maggie Bonet
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
Everyone in my house and neighbors loved it. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie Bonet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Great recipe. The crab over chicken was a very nice touch. Added a lot more flavor. I added minute rice in the last 10 minutes before serving and it was a nice touch. Didn't thicken it too much either. On top of the franks extra hot I used I added another tbsp of Sriracha for a little more kick. All in all one of if not the best gumbo I've had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Very good! I used butter instead of bacon drippings, mainly because I'm too lazy to make bacon drippings. It worked fine. I also used chicken instead of crab, just because it sounded good and it's cheaper. Everything else I did the same and it was amazing. The shrimp and the Andouille sausage were worth the expense. They gave the gumbo a great aroma and taste. When making your roux, I highly suggest you cook it on medium low and whisk nonstop for an hour. Then whisk another 15 off the burner. Any hotter than medium low and you'll be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 253) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States