Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
Too much bacon taste. Bacon drippings take the taste away from the seafood.....Otherwise good. I also didn't use beef bouillon cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
Delicious! Comfort food all the way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by InkBuddy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Yum!!! I'm from New Orleans currently living out of state, so I was looking for the best gumbo recipe to remind me of home and I hit the jackpot with this one! It took me much longer than 4 hours to make, but man was it worth it! I also substituted the crab for (boiled and pulled)chicken, because my favorite gumbo is chicken, adouille and shrimp. I double the recipe and made this for 30+ people and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I like spicy food so I rounded up the amount of Cajun spice. Big mistake that I won't do again. Did not want to pay for crab but did add tsp of Old Bay Seasoning. Great comfort food!,,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
This was my first time making Gumbo I used fresh okra and followed the recipe closely. It turned out great!!!! I served it with rice and a side of potato salad and from what I have been reading onthe internet that is how it is served in Louisiana. Give a man a fish and you can feed him for a day. Teach a man how to fish and you can feed him for a lifetime. That is how I feel about you sharing this recipe. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMOSABBE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
excellent ! Used it, loved it, went over well with the whole family!! Making it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anthony

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Thank u so much for sharing this recipe, I made huge pot this weekend and it came out superb!!! I had family friends over who are foodies just like me and it was all the rave, everyone loved it!!!..it came out way better than I ever expected, the flavor was perfect!!! I can't wait to make it again, I will be passing this recipe on to everyone I know to keep the goodness going!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Totenbier Melanie
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
OMG! This came out fantastic! Not hard to make, just a lot of steps. Foodgirly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Demetrio-Vanessa Phillips
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
This is an amazingly authentic recipe. My husband loved it so much I had to make it for Christmas AND New Year... Definitely going in my arsenal... Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
This is my first time giving a review...I felt obligated to give one. First let me say THANK YOU! Your awesome, authentic & very easy to follow Gumbo recipe saved my Christmas dinner. I wouldn't change anything about the recipe, my only suggestions...BEFORE BEGINNING...READ UP ON THE IMPORTANCE OF THE ROUX (it is crucial). I did add chunks of Costco Roasted Chicken (where i also bought my snow crab and hot links:) 30 min before done, fried okra in a separate pan & then add some of the soup to it to serve it up separately since some of my guests didn't not like okra. Now for those interested, my story...It took YEARS to get gradually (bit by bit) a gumbo recipe from my husband's Great Aunt Willa. I FINALLY achieved in what I thought to be a complete recipe after 13 years and had tweeked the recipe to my liking the last 7 years. I went to pull out the recipe card just to discover that either I misplaced it or one of my 6 children borrowed it without me knowing. So in my desperation I went to allrecipes.com and found this recipe that looked as close to Aunt Willas. I could get shunned for saying this but you should know...your recipe is BETTER! In Aunt Willa's defense, she never actually made it with me, she just described the details AND she probably explained the Roux part but didn't know the term so I never knew the color importance. I have to say, I'm glad I couldn't find my recipe card!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONENONLYMRSSTOKES

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States