Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Very very good! I made the roux as directed and it did take almost an hour to darken nicely. Meanwhile I brought 4 C of homemade chix stock + 2C water with the 3 tsps Jamisons beef paste to boil. Added the roux/sausage/veggie mix and then added all the other veggies once the roux was heated through. Served this luscious concoction over white rice to rave reviews! Also always make my own Cajun seasoning and added an extra tsp of Thyme. So Good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GABRIELLAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonn, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Mundelein, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
This was many time consuming steps, but worth every one! I was trying to duplicate a local dining rooms recipe and this was it! Can't believe it took me so long to find this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Yes ! My family loved it ... Agree the roux is the key...easy. Put this on you MUST try list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I made this for my better half as she's a gumbo consumption expert & critic. Was nervous but she loved it! Right color & flavor & I actually loved it also! Thanks!! It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I am from the Gulf Coast (Pensacola) and love gumbo, but have never made it. I did the research to find a recipe with a high rating and decided on this one to be my first. This recipe was wonderful!!!!! I did make a few substitutions and additions, though. Rather than 3 QTs water and beef bullion cubes I used 1 quart each of seafood and vegetable stock and 2 quarts of water. I needed more than the 3 quarts suggested because I added 3 diced chicken breasts (pan seared and then diced), 1 pound of lump crab meat, 1 pound of shrimp (peeled and deveined) and I doubled the sausage. My husband loves very hearty, meaty gumbo - so he absolutely LOVED this!! Thank you so much! I can't wait to make it again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Lorton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I was unimpressed. The took a lot of time and effort and had an overwhelming sausage flavor. I wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
A few years ago myself and I took a trip to New Orleans and we were fortunate to health authentic New Orleans gumbo this dish reminded me of the time when we were in New Orleans, it's a great dish! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Made this for my family today and it was a complete hit. Well worth the prep time. I too have experimented with several Gumbo recipes and this one tops them all. The best lesson learned is cooking the Okra with the vinegar; no slimy texture, very nice! I am looking forward to making this again for Mardi Gras! May even slip it in again before then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by farmand1
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Awesome!! Made it for New Years and everyone enjoyed....still eating it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States