Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
This recipe is nothing short of amazing! As others have posted, I would recommend using more than 3/4 of a cup of bacon drippings when making the roux. We skipped simmering the veggies for 15 minutes because they were so dry after being added to the roux. Still came out wonderful! As for those saying you need to cook the roux for an hour, they must not be using cast iron pans. Ours was perfect after 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob Williams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
I was so impressed. But most of all my husband and friends loved it. I have given the recipe to my friends. Will be making it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheree Dumas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
Love this recipe!!! My family said it's definitely a keeper! I did make a couple of changes based on personal taste. First, I omitted the salt & used a 16oz bag of okra vs 2-10oz bags (I detest okra, it's a texture thing!) & cut back the shrimp by 1lb & added 1lb of scallops. Lastly, I used 2 Tbsp of Kitchen Bouquet for added flavor. I have a friend who was born & raised in New Orleans & makes every meal from scratch.(She even grows her own veggies & herbs!) She keeps Kitchen Bouquet on hand. She says it's one of her must have ingredients to boost flavor! It's awesome over Jasmine Rice!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2015
It was delicious. With all the expensive ingredients, this is a winning recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
I have literally made dozens of different gumbo recipes and this one is the BEST! I rarely follow directions to a T but I did on this one (except for not having tomato sauce) and it was well worth it! Will be making again soon, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2015
This turned out great, sausage was a little spicy so if your not into that use a different sausage but we loved it also I added scallops and it was fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
This is my absolute favorite recipe in the ENTIRE UNIVERSE! This gumbo is fantastic! I change nothing when I make it. My boyfriend loves chicken in it, we disagree. Thank you for sharing such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2015
Love this recipe. My family loved it, it is our new favorite recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Altamonte Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by David Nagy
Reviewed: May 13, 2015
This is a good recipie to use. I modified it by doing the following: 1) I'm not wasting bacon to make this, so all the bacon drippings it calls for I simply replaced with butter- just as effective. 2) the extra tomato paste I just plain threw out, the stewed tomatoes are enough 3) the crab meat isn't totally necessary. It's kind-of hit or miss depending on the audience. 4) it tastes better and less tomato-y if you cook the roux longer until it's really dark brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Nagy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
This was my first time making gumbo. This turned out to be such a delicious, beautiful dish! Thank you for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States