Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Quinton Fussell
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
This is a great recipe, make sure to take your time on the roux on medium low heat do not let it smoke, whisk until you get that deep brown color, it is crucial. I used 1 red and 1 yellow pepper and added a datil pepper in the mix and doubled up on the garlic. Serve with rice ,cornbread or straight up I used Louisiana hot sauce,Trappey's and sriracha, still not that spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I made this recipe tonight for dinner and it was a hit. I had to omit the hot sauce (although I added it later to my serving) due to a family member intolerance of spicy foods. Also , I didnt have bacon grease on hand, so I substituted butter with pork flavor seasoning mixed in. I was unsure about that , but it came out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Wilkes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rose
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
This is the best gumbo I've ever had. I like to make large batches for guests and everyone has always been impressed. Often, they'll tell me later that they ordered gumbo at a restaurant and were disappointed because it wasn't half as good as mine. ;) When I make it, I use a couple alterations to suit my needs and tastes. Firstly, I make the roux with 1/2 cup cornstarch instead of 1 cup flour. I do this to make the recipe gluten-free, since I have Celiac disease. (Note for other Celiacs: make sure the Cajun seasoning you use is gluten-free.) If I don't have bacon drippings on hand, I substitute with butter, which is also delicious. I also always use fresh diced tomatoes instead of canned ones -- a personal preference. Other than these exceptions, I follow the recipe to a T and it's amazing! Try it; you'll be so, so glad you did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
This is now MY family gumbo too! I have a big family and this pleases everyone!!!! We love it and we thank you so much for sharing! Although, I must admit, I add deep fried crunchy okra to the top before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Wonderful recipe! I'm a Texan but my husband is from Louisiana and he loved it. I sliced boiled eggs and put them on top of each bowl of gumbo. Cooked roux longer and used a tad more Tony Chachere. Used fresh okra from my garden. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Alvin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Annie
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I used this recipe to make gumbo for the first time. It came out perfect! Just like how true gumbo suppose to taste like. Thank you so much for the awesome recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
It was my first attempt at gumbo....absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Better than awesome! followed everything to the tee, added 3 minced cloves of garlic, tossed fresh shrimp into a steamer pan and dipped it into the brew for 1 minute to cook. removed and let each person dish their rice, crab meat and shrimp into their bowl before spooning gumbo onto the pile. this way the rice and seafood never overcooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I'm so happy I made sooo much! 20 servings for 2 people. I jarred and froze broth before adding the shrimp, crab and okra. Dinner tonight and 4 future nights! YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jpaul

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Oh my my my! This was a recipe for success! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States