Good-Morning Banana Nut Cereal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by darthotto
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
This beats any hot cereal I have ever had. We made this for dinner tonight and my 4 year old loved it. I doubled this recipe and made some small changes. I used ground flax seed instead of oat bran and sunflowers instead of walnuts. I also added about 2 tsp of chia seeds for extra protein. My bananas were a little ripe with black spots but I think it added extra flavor. The quinoa doesnt cook all the way but you dont even notice with the crunchy nuts in the cereal. Very good. Awsome and Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darthotto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
tastey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
This was very good. I would use roasted ground flaxmeal over the oatbran for a more nutty flavor and cook the quinoa a bit longer. Also, using a really ripe banana cancels out the need to add any sugar. Topped with extra banana slices and an extra sprinkle of cinnamon and this was a really good start to the day. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Yummy, and so healthy with the 3 cereals. I felt it needed more liquid, though, as it was too thick, so I added some while it was cooking. I think granola would be good to add to give it some more sweetness. Servings looked small, but it's very filling, a little goes a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
I've never managed to make oatmeal taste good and although this isn't exactly oatmeal it's the best hot cereal I've ever made. I didn't have quinoa so I used pearl barley instead and had strawberries to get rid of so I used those along with the banana. I added a bit more sugar than called for, thinking that it wouldn't be sweet enough, that was a mistake! It's a great recipe as written and I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocktailqueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
SO TASTY!!!! A bit more time-consumming than some other recipes, but totally delicious and well worth the time. I don't have oat bran, but I've successfully used both wheat germ and ground flaxseed in its place. Also, I LOVE cinnamon (and it's actually very healthy), so I added between 1/2 - 1 tsp. Additionally, I used raw pumpkin seeds rather than the walnuts as I am vegetarian and the provide extra iron, aside from the fact that they add a delicious crunch. Lastly, the vanilla is a must - it makes the dish. A great way to start the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
THE best breakfast I've had in a long time. I only made two small changes and that's using one whole sliced banana and 1/4 cup fat free evaporated milk. Everything else I kept the same. Very, VERY good. Next time, I'll quadruple it (thanks to the handy-dandy serving adjuster) so my whole family can enjoy this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VEGEPUNKSTR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shadow Hills, California, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Delicious and nutricious! This was a great way to start the day. It was not only tasty but very filling. I added a little more cinnamon and a pinch of nutmeg. Overall, perfect for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I love this! It's pretty thick so I poured a little milk over it when it was done (but I do that with my regular oatmeal too). I used a dash of liquid sweetener instead of brown sugar and also added in a pinch of ground flax like a couple other reviews mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Gluten-Free Hot Breakfast Cereal

A delicious and healthy hot cereal with 8 gluten-free whole grains and seeds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States