Good-Morning Banana Nut Cereal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Excellent recipe and so delicious. I have made this with the bananas as called for and also with blueberries. Both were wonderful and I'm so glad to have a new recipe with quinoa in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Danville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I love this! It's pretty thick so I poured a little milk over it when it was done (but I do that with my regular oatmeal too). I used a dash of liquid sweetener instead of brown sugar and also added in a pinch of ground flax like a couple other reviews mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Delicious and nutricious! This was a great way to start the day. It was not only tasty but very filling. I added a little more cinnamon and a pinch of nutmeg. Overall, perfect for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VEGEPUNKSTR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shadow Hills, California, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
THE best breakfast I've had in a long time. I only made two small changes and that's using one whole sliced banana and 1/4 cup fat free evaporated milk. Everything else I kept the same. Very, VERY good. Next time, I'll quadruple it (thanks to the handy-dandy serving adjuster) so my whole family can enjoy this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
SO TASTY!!!! A bit more time-consumming than some other recipes, but totally delicious and well worth the time. I don't have oat bran, but I've successfully used both wheat germ and ground flaxseed in its place. Also, I LOVE cinnamon (and it's actually very healthy), so I added between 1/2 - 1 tsp. Additionally, I used raw pumpkin seeds rather than the walnuts as I am vegetarian and the provide extra iron, aside from the fact that they add a delicious crunch. Lastly, the vanilla is a must - it makes the dish. A great way to start the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
I've never managed to make oatmeal taste good and although this isn't exactly oatmeal it's the best hot cereal I've ever made. I didn't have quinoa so I used pearl barley instead and had strawberries to get rid of so I used those along with the banana. I added a bit more sugar than called for, thinking that it wouldn't be sweet enough, that was a mistake! It's a great recipe as written and I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocktailqueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Yummy, and so healthy with the 3 cereals. I felt it needed more liquid, though, as it was too thick, so I added some while it was cooking. I think granola would be good to add to give it some more sweetness. Servings looked small, but it's very filling, a little goes a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
This was very good. I would use roasted ground flaxmeal over the oatbran for a more nutty flavor and cook the quinoa a bit longer. Also, using a really ripe banana cancels out the need to add any sugar. Topped with extra banana slices and an extra sprinkle of cinnamon and this was a really good start to the day. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
tastey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 31-40 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Gluten-Free Hot Breakfast Cereal

A delicious and healthy hot cereal with 8 gluten-free whole grains and seeds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States