Good-Morning Banana Nut Cereal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Easy, delicious and healthy! Substituted ground flaxseed for the oat bran is all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I have been wanting to add quinoa to my diet, and this was the perfect recipe to start off with. I added a little to much of the brown sugar, but I know for next time that not as much will be needed. I am also going to try this with other fruits, as others have suggested, this way I can use up all the fruit from last years canning, and have a fresh stock for this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellie

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
This recipe was great. I didn't add the oat bran, but everything else was included. I was amazed at how long this simple meal held me over. I ate this at 7am and didn't feel hungry until noon. That's what I call an amazing meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
A nice breakfast, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
A great spring board recipe. I just got done making this. It was the first time I've ever made quinoa so I was really surprised when this came out perfectly. As I was making breakfast, all hell broke loose and the granola I was toasting burned, my eggs suffered a bit of overcooking but my hot cereal was perfect, and cheered me right up. I do suggest that those cooking this hold on to the sugar until the bananas have cooked down, because it may not be necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Declicious! I added a tablespoon of ground flax seed, 2 tblsp of vanilla yogurt an extra tblsp of brown sugar and a little more milk in the end, and that made it creamy and oh so good! Thanks sumitter! Elvira Silva.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lvmy2girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Love it...did not have oat bran and banana but topped it with some peaches and it was pretty good. Next time I double this recipe because the bowl was empty to fast:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Freyenstein, Brandenburg, Germany
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
This was a perfect breakfast! I used homemade almond milk instead of skim milk to make it dairy free. I didn't have any oat bran, so I just replaced that with extra oatmeal. I used quick oats, because that's what I had, but I will make sure to pick up some old-fashioned oats during my next shopping trip. I didn't have any walnuts, either, but I wish I would have, as I can tell it would help offset the crunchiness of the quinoa. I can't wait to try this again!! YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imabanta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: West Valley City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I made this recipe up while I was living alone during grad-school. You can double it, doctor it, and pretty much add whatever you want to it. I used quinoa for extra protein to help me get through really long days. I've added flax seed, blueberries, diced apples, dried cranberries, peaches, etc. to this recipe. Some will find it sweet enough with just the banana but, if you're like me and you live molasses, brown sugar adds a nice flavor. I think you could make this with pretty much any grain you want - sometimes I toss in a little polenta or grits, but it's important to use slow-cooking oats, not the quick-cook or instant oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
This was surprisingly good, however I had to make a few changes. I did not have the oat bran so I used ground flax seed. This is probably a healthier choice going forward. I did not use the brown sugar, I used one whole banana. It was plenty sweet enough for my taste. I found that there wasn't quite enough liquid in the recipe, so with such a small serving size the kind of pot you use will make a difference. I used a larger skillet and too much liquid evaporated (so I had to add more a couple of times) plus my quinoa did not get as done as I would have liked. I would have rated it more in the 4.5 range if I had the choice because it is definately worth making, but it's not really a 5 star recipe in the grand scheme of things. All in all I will make this again! Next time I will make a quadruple recipe to share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Gluten-Free Hot Breakfast Cereal

A delicious and healthy hot cereal with 8 gluten-free whole grains and seeds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States