Good-Morning Banana Nut Cereal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2015
My new favorite breakfast! I skip the oat bran (do not have any) and the brown sugar and vanilla extract (trying to cut out sugar from diet) and subbed almond milk for the milk. It is delicious even without the added sugar. I like it with chopped walnuts, almonds or cocoa almonds (really good with the hint of cocoa flavor).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
I made this without the nuts, and used almond milk. The quinoa I used was breakfast flakes, and I'm not sure if the quinoa called for is the same or not. I felt like it needed an extra 1/4 cup of liquid, so I added more almond milk during the last cooking phase. I loved it. Very delicious and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Kent

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
Good cereal, but didn't make enough for me. Next time, I'll double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
This is delicious and nutritious. I'm not a huge fan of hot, mushy bananas so I put them in as part of the last step. I also only put half of the sugar that it asked for and it was just the right amount of sweetness. This will definitely become a regular breakfast for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Fosson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Great for keeping my hypoglycemia in check! I quadrupled the recipe right away. I did not have bananas or oat bran so I substituted dried cranberries and flax seed. I made it again with bananas. A great base-recipe to use whatever you have on hand. This breakfast keeps me going all morning. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by becky
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
Made it just like it said. Yum!!! My 6 year old daughter and I love this breakfast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
This is really good. I didnt put the Bran in because I didnt have any but all the other ingredients were very good!!!! Next time I will use less salt!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tyshieha Keitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Deerfield Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gina
Reviewed: May 8, 2014
I really liked this recipe! The first thing I thought "Why only one serving!!!!" I should have doubled, tripled it!!! I made it exactly as written. My first time cooking with quinoa and had a little hard time finding it in my local grocery store but I will definitely stock up now! This has such a yummy warm taste the banana taste was wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Ayter been on the search for the perfect oatmeal recipe. I wanted one that would be creamy and delicious like the instant packs. But healthy without all the added "stuff" that comes in the instant packs. needless to say I have tried many recipes. By tricking this recipe and combining a few tricks I learned from some other recipes I found the perfect oatmeal recipe. first I used ground flaxseed rather than oatbran. I omitted the walnuts and the sugar.in place of the sugar I added a tiny bit of honey. Rather than slicing the banana I mashed the banana.I used sprouted quinoa, not sure if that makes a difference or not.as the mixture is cooking I added splashes of milk here and there. And After it was completely done cooking off the heat I added one raw egg. After stirring it and really well I put it back on the heat just long enough to make sure everything was cooked well. this gave me the most creamy, silky, delicious bowl of oatmeal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missy1979

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
It's a very good recipe. I used 2% Milk half a cup ,because I like my oats a little watery. I chopped the banana end the end did not cooked them. I like honey, so instead of sugar and vanilla I used honey. This recipe makes a lot, so I even out every ingredients to one cup oat brand , oats and nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gbv239

Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Gluten-Free Hot Breakfast Cereal

A delicious and healthy hot cereal with 8 gluten-free whole grains and seeds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States