Good Meringue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Very easy . I waited until the egg whites were room temp. About half-an-hour. I used 1/3 cup of sugar and 1/4 teaspoon of Cream of Tartar Placed it on my hot key lime filling. Baked the pie with the meringue for another 10 minutes. Wonderful and easy recipe. I will try lemon filling next. ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
I have NEVER made a good meringue before. Used on a coconut cream pie and it was perfect! Baked at 350 deg. for 12 minutes. Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sego

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Painted Post, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
There are several more complicated meringue recipes on this site, but this recipe makes great meringue simply. I'm not sure the cream of tartar is necessary. Cream of tartar is supposed to be a stabilizer, so if you're worried about it turning out, just throw in a couple of dashes. I agree the meringue doesn't need this much sugar; I use 6 tablespoons of sugar with 4 egg whites, and it's plenty sweet for us. I've also added 1 t. vanilla when I want it to be a little more flavorful. Things to remember when making meringue: 1. Make in a very clean steel or glass bowl; grease will break down your meringue. Don't use plastic bowls! 2. Egg whites must be pure; if you get a little yolk in them, it's full of fats that will break down your meringue. 3. Beat on high until the peaks start bulging out in front of your beaters. For me, this takes about 7-8 minutes. 4. Add the sugar, vanilla, and cream of tartar when you are about halfway to 3/4 through. 5. If you want the meringue to not separate and make a liquid layer on your pie, put it on your custard or filling while it is still hot. The hot custard cooks the meringue from the bottom, and the oven cooks it from the top. If you put meringue on cool filling, the bottom of it may stay raw and can separate. 6. When you put on the meringue, use your knife to meld it to the edge of your pie crust. 7. Cook in a 350F oven for 7 minutes for lightly browned. 8. Make right when you need it; make it too early and it will set up in the b
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tullahoma, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Like some other reviewers, I omitted the cream of tartar, and added vanilla. Very tasty, easy to make, and beautiful to look at. I topped a banana cream pie with it. Baking temperature and time for meringue depends on how thick it is laid on , etc.-- I baked mine first at 300F for about 20 min, then upped the temperature to 350 and let pie in over for a few more minutes. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
This is the first meringue I've ever been really 100% happy with. Incidentally, this is the first one that ever used cream of tartar that I've tried. It was worth every penny - my meringue looked pure white, like clouds, and didn't start to break before hitting stiff peaks. Thank you! EDIT: I made this one again without the cream of tartar and with only 1/2 cup sugar, and baked 13 mins @ 375. I don't know which change made the difference, but I'm even happier with it the 2nd time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
This turned out absolutely beautiful and the cream of tartar makes a huge difference to the quality of the meringue! Loved it :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Inuvik, Northwest Territories, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
great recipe but no baking instructions i baked mine at 350 and just kept watching till the tips were browned
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Good, easy recipe for meringue. Used 1/4 t vanilla and no cream of tartar. With 4 egg whites, I used 1/3 c sugar. So pretty much, I changed everything except the ingredients :) That's the only reason it gets a 4 instead of 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brooke
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Wow! I had no idea how easy meringue is to prepare! I took the advice of another reviewer and used ~1/4 cup of sugar and it tastes and looks great! I baked it on 200 C for about 9 minutes. Wonderful! Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingwood, Texas, USA
Living In: Budapest, Pest, Hungary
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This is simple and delicious...I added a 1/2 tps of Pure Vanilla Extract and it just made it all the better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Salmon with Brown Sugar Glaze

Oven broiled salmon fillets with sweet Dijon mustard sauce.

Yummy Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make a creamy, sweet and slightly spicy dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States