Good for You Greek Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
This was really great with a few minor tweaks. I looked over other greek salad recipes on this site and came up with the best dressing. Instead of 4 tsp. of lemon juice, add 3 and 1 tsp of red wine vinegar. For the salt and pepper, add 1/4 tsp of each. Also, add half a green pepper chopped, kalamata olives instead of black and it comes out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
407 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
Excellent salad! Stirred in just a couple heaping tbsp. of nonfat greek yogurt. I darn near ate the whole bowl. I might try it with the red wine vinegar in place of the lemon juice as other reviewers have suggested and see how that is. The longer it sits, the better it gets. NOTE: A trick Grandma taught me to help draw some of the liquid out of tomatoes is cut them the way you want them on the salad, then lay them on paper towels and sprinkle with salt. Let them sit for a bit and drain. Blot with paper towels. You do this, your salad will be less drippy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
210 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
I subsituted 2 tablespoons red wine vinegar for the olive oil and used fat-free feta. It came out absolutely delicious with so much less fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Highland Village, Texas, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Wonderful salad! I used halved grape tomatoes and I didn't have Greek olives so I used black olives instead. When it came to the dressing I took the advice of another reviewer and used Absolutely Fabulous Greek/House dressing scaled down to five servings. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
It's nice to have a change of pace from the usual lettuce or romaine salads, so we tried this. It was very good, and the tart lemon flavor was good. We've had it a couple of times, and varied the size of the chopped vegetables. Try this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I really enjoyed this refreshing salad. Light with the lemon dressing, which I just loved, while at the same time a little zesty with the boldness of the oregano (I used fresh). Just as a matter of personal preference I went a little lighter on the feta and did not peel the cucumber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
Great salad. I put this on torn romaine lettuce, and used calamata olives instead of the black. This was just like what you'd get from a fine greek restaurant. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Excellent! Fresh, summery, and healthy. Next time I may try it with fresh herbs. All measurements are approximate in this recipe; suit to your taste. Tip: cut the cucumbers lengthwise, then scoop out the seeds with a spoon and discard. This keeps the salad from becoming to soupy and slimy, and gives it a crisper texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
I loved this salad, after eating a restaurant salad made with a true Greek dressing recipe. This was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2003
Made this one minus the black olives and it still turned out great. Will absolutely make it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Salad I

Summer vegetables dressed in a tangy, refreshing vinaigrette.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States