Good for You Greek Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
I decided to serve this salad with a bag of romaine lettuce added. I bumped up the amount of the acid elements to stretch the dressing to cover the additional leaves in the recipe. The lettuce added some bulk and is great for plumping it out as a full meal or for feeding additional people as a side dish. I also changed the composition of the dressing a bit by using half lemon juice, half red wine vinegar (2 tbsp. each instead of 4 tsp. lemon juice) and substituted kalamata olives for the black olives, just because I like them better. Delicious base for a Greek salad, and very quickly and easily prepared. I will be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Really tasty. I used home grown tomatoes and cucumbers and regular black olives. Flavors went well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
This is a great classic recipe. I put a little less olive oil than called for. Love the feta and olives with the cucumbers and tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tjvarnadoe68

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Smyrna, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Absolutely LOVED this!! It has a great authentic greek taste! Will definitely be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chardon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
Love the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
This was a great greek salad recipe. I have been to Greece and this is very close to how they serve their salads over there. I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Very good and very healthy! great as a side for a summer dinner. will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
This recipe was ok. Not the usual Greek salad that I'm used to. I will probably be make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Made this for houseguest who liked it a lot. Kalamata olives are the best in a Greek salad. Used this site's Absolutely Fabulous Greek House Dressing..........which I keep prepared at all times!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti'sPantry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crestview, Florida, USA
Living In: Shalimar, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Not bad! While nothing compares to a fresh salad at one of Chicago's well-known Greek restaurants, this was a pretty darn good! Other than the dressing being a *tad* bitter for my liking, I really enjoyed this. I didn't detect the bright, citrus note that I am accustomed to, but I think that may gave been my fault.... I used the juice of a Meyer lemon and think that may be the reason my dressing didn't turn out as I had hoped it would (FYI, Meyer lemons have a sweeter, less acidic flavor than the common supermarket variety). To make this salad a bit more "authentic," I did a little doctoring (I know, I know...). I sliced my cucumber and onion, cut my tomatoes into wedges, added a few peperoncini peppers and tossed everything with crisp Iceberg lettuce - voila! I can now enjoy a big fat Greek salad just the way I like it. :) Thanks for sharing your recipe, Jen. This lovely salad paired perfectly with my Mediterranean-inspired main dish! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Salad I

Summer vegetables dressed in a tangy, refreshing vinaigrette.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States