Good-As-Grandma's Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2013
As a cookie was no good as a pastry in itself was OK. Mix between cookie and biscuit. Would be very good with something savory!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
What happen to the part for the jelly or the center? Do you put it on before or after it's baked. I should have read the reviews first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Not good as a cookie, sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
My family loves these cookies. They are NOT a sweet sugar cookie, however. Make sure you use REAL butter (and make sure it's salted, it will bring out the flavor more). The dough is also very crumbly - I do not roll out the dough, but make walnut sized balls and drop them on the cookie sheet. If you find it to be too dry you can always add a touch more milk (or lessen the flour like some others have mentioned). They do come out very moist and don't take long in the oven. If you are looking for an over-the-top sweet cookie, this recipe won't get it. If you are looking for a very moist, buttery cookie, then you've found it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
These cookies are soft, moist, and delicious! It is more of a shortbread, though. I totally reccommend this-two thumbs up here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yumyum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This was the first time my son and I made Christmas cookies. We loved this recipie. My son says they tasted better than bakery bought :) Most of the other reviews were correct. To make the drop cookies you have to lessen the amount of flour. But using the actual recipe here made it perfect for cookie cutting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo-C

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
this recipe was very simple and came out very good. i added some spice and made them a bit bigger, and it did not harm the recipe. very useful recipe for delicious cookies, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
Very good cookies. I followed a few of the other reviews, but cut the flour by a lil bit more -- I only used 2 cups of flour. Cookies seemed to come out well. The dough was delicious raw (can't help it, still a kid at heart). Baked for about 6 minutes and the cookies were deliciously soft and kinda doughy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
I thought the cookies were a bit bland in flavor and next time I will put in Vanilla flavoring instead of Lemon. I rolled the batter into balls and pressed down on them with a glass dipped in sugar. Then sprinkled colored sugar on top before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pierson, Iowa, USA
Living In: Correctionville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
Yummy biscuits! The thanksgiving dinner table has a new dish! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States