Gonzo Garbanzos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I had to make a few changes due to the ingredients on hand. I doubled the Cajun seasoning, as I didn't have any sazon. In place of the dried red chile, I used red pepper flakes. I didn't have garlic cloves, so I had to use minced garlic (therefore, I was unable to remove the red pepper flakes and garlic cloves at the end). Despite all the modifications, this was really good! Thanks for the recipe, Clint!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
my wife made this and while edible, was not as flavorful as I was looking forward to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Columbus, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Nice flavors in this one, only change i made was to omit the sazon seasning (didn't have any) and just double up on the Cajun. I liked the tang from the lemon, overall a great side dish that could also be served with rice for a healthy but filling lunch the next day. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Followed exactly as written, very quick and easy recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
I added more of all the seasonings (except the black pepper). Really good stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
Yummy and unique! I have made this several times and my husband adores it. It is very tangy and flavorful and the chick peas are not dry at all. People are always very pleasantly surprised by this dish-its a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
Yum! this is a simple and yummy recipe. Will definately make this again! the broth is very tasty. Only four stars b/c sazon seasoning is mostly MSG. Also, I'm not sure how much flavor the dried red pepper added. this was an expensive ingredient especially since I have no idea what to do with the rest of the bag of dried red peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
Love, love, LOVE this recipe; I used a tbs of bottled lemon juice, and doubled the cajun seasoning in lieu of the sazon(?) seasoning. I threw a little brown rice in and we had it for lunch; the kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady Madonna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Quinoa with Garbanzos and Peppers

This curried quinoa uses ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make this sweet, tasty, grilled pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States