Gomen Wat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
This was my first time cooking collard greens and I was looking for something non-traditional; and by that, I mean "southern-style." This was really tasty! Some changes I made, I didn't have quite a pound of collard greens (only 11 oz), and I used a whole onion and a lot of pre-minced garlic. I followed the rest of the spicy exactly. I felt that it was a little too gingery for my liking and if I make it again, I will half the ginger. It overpowered all the other flavors. I would probably also toss out half of the reserved water next time; I cooked for the said amount of time but it was still quite watery and I am rather impatient. It was still quite good though! I also only divided this whole dish between two people and served with a tilapia fillet. I was surprised to see that all of the ingredients were key players in detoxification so that's a plus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Townsend, Washington, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
This recipe was amazing, way better than I imagined it would be, but there are some minor alterations I would like to add. First off, when chopping the collards, remove the hard stem. What I did was sort of cut an elongated V shape up the center of the leaf to remove the most of the hard stem and rib together. Also, I dumped all of the collards and the water into a large bowl, and used the same vessel the collards had been in to cook the onion. When ready I poured the collards, water and all, back into the onion mixture. This saved some time and energy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAPATISTA234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
After boiling the greens and draining them (saving the liquid for sure!), I used a cast iron skillet for the final steps. Green pepper needs to be sliced fairly thin. This was aromatic, just spicy enough, colorful and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cazuela
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
For my very first encounter with collard greens, I will say it was delicious! I used ground ginger, because I did not have any fresh ginger handy. I didn't understand why the greens needed to be drained and liquid reserved if it all goes back into the pot, so while the collards were simmering, i cooked the onions in a separate pan and when it was time i just added the onions+garlic to the pot with the greens and continued on from there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tefnuit

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I made this exactly as the recipe called for and it was surprisingly delicious and to my utter astonishment, my very picky nine year old gobbled it down and asked for seconds. My whole family loves this recipe and now I have a recipe for all those collard greens I planted this year. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FSUGABRIELLE
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This recipe was delicious and healthy, though it didn't quite have the flavor that I expected. I added more ginger root and some hot sauce, and omitted the salt, and it was perfect. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FSUGABRIELLE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
My ethipian born children thank you for this wonderful and closely authentic recipe! I use chicken broth for the liquid and found frozen chopped collards in my local grocery to cut the time down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kdgengler

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
Easy to make, really good. A good way to make collard greens healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Wow, really surprisingly good! I sort of reversed the steps. I sauted the onion, garlic and ginger first, added the spices and green pepper, then the collards, then just enough water to cook them and simmered for about 20 min. The result was great, much better than I expected!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA
Living In: Douglas, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Maple Dill Carrots

See how to make sweet and savory sautéed carrots in the skillet.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States