Gomen Wat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
This was my first time cooking collard greens and I was looking for something non-traditional; and by that, I mean "southern-style." This was really tasty! Some changes I made, I didn't have quite a pound of collard greens (only 11 oz), and I used a whole onion and a lot of pre-minced garlic. I followed the rest of the spicy exactly. I felt that it was a little too gingery for my liking and if I make it again, I will half the ginger. It overpowered all the other flavors. I would probably also toss out half of the reserved water next time; I cooked for the said amount of time but it was still quite watery and I am rather impatient. It was still quite good though! I also only divided this whole dish between two people and served with a tilapia fillet. I was surprised to see that all of the ingredients were key players in detoxification so that's a plus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Townsend, Washington, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
After boiling the greens and draining them (saving the liquid for sure!), I used a cast iron skillet for the final steps. Green pepper needs to be sliced fairly thin. This was aromatic, just spicy enough, colorful and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cazuela
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
Easy to make, really good. A good way to make collard greens healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Trying to learn to eat the South Beach way, I thought I'd try this healthy version of collards. AWESOME! I wasn't sure about this combo of seasonings, so I started with a little less than what was called for on the allspice, ginger and tumeric and then seasoned to my taste. A little cayenne pepper finished it off. Don't forget the lemon juice--it's essential. The dish is very pleasing to the eye as well. I can't wait to make it again and show it off to my friends. I'm eating this whole skillet myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FSUGABRIELLE
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This recipe was delicious and healthy, though it didn't quite have the flavor that I expected. I added more ginger root and some hot sauce, and omitted the salt, and it was perfect. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FSUGABRIELLE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This was too lemony and too gingery for us. It was very very bright. The only alteration I made was leaving out the green pepper, as I didn't have any. I don't think that would have altered it enough to be palatable for my family. However, the method was interesting and useful, and I will be able to change up the flavorings to make something that our poor american taste buds can handle. :) Just to try to tone down the acid/brightness, I tried drizzling a little honey on the collards. It wasn't enough. So we won't make this specific combination of flavors again, but we will use the method. The lemon, ginger, and slight bitterness of the reduced cooking water was really what overpowered it for us. We're new to collards, though, so it was definitely worth a shot. We will try something a little more traditional southern next time, I think. Or perhaps tone down the ginger and leave out the lemon. It definitely gave an interesting flavor twist to collards, it was just a bit overpowering for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I thought this was awesome. A nice new way for me to make collard greens. I'll make this again and will pick up some of the sour spongy bread at an Ethiopian market to eat with it. YUM! It reminded me of a meal I had in not Ethiopia, but in Tanzania, because of all the great spices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Well, I guess I just don't like collards. I really tried, with them being so healthy. Perhaps if you like the slightly bitter taste of collards, you'll like these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
The spices in this were a little funky. Maybe I made it wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
My ethipian born children thank you for this wonderful and closely authentic recipe! I use chicken broth for the liquid and found frozen chopped collards in my local grocery to cut the time down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kdgengler

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Maple Dill Carrots

See how to make sweet and savory sautéed carrots in the skillet.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States