Goldenrod Egg Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
I submitted this recipe and it was changed from original submission. The rou should be a white rou, not a brown one, therefore, cook for no more than 5 minutes, (the gravy should turn out like a white gravy for bisquits)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danaferre

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lindon, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Hey Editors, what's up with this bogus change to Dana's recipe? The sauce should be white. Cook it for 10 minutes and it will get *darker*, and it will be ruined. It will not 'lighten'. Anyway, my mother-in-law introduced this dish to me and I love it. She also calls it Eggs a al Goldenrod. Dana's recipe, done the way she wrote it, is just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hester

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
My Southern husband taught me how to make this, but we just chop up the eggs into the cream sauce, and call it creamed eggs. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gocoastl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
This is good. I learned this recipe in 1972, in the 8th grade. Our home ec class learned how to make this dish. It was called "eggs a la goldenrod". The ingredients for the "roux" are what is used for a white sauce, and would be between a medium to thick white sauce. At the time we learned how to make this recipe, we also learned how to make homemade bisquits, and we served this over gravy mixture over the bisquits. It was really good, and very simple to make. BTW, our lab group got an "A" for how the dish turned out. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
When I was a child,several families in our Irish, English,Scotch neiborhood in Boston, MA had Goldenrod Eggs for Sunday brunch--I'm 68 yrs.old and I still enjoy it on Sunday ( as well as creamed tuna on toast). I recently found this recipe in a 1896 cookbook entitled "The Boston School Of Cooking Cookbook" by Fannie Merritt Farmer---I was amazed that this recipe has been around for so long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This was dinner tonight. Simple and quick for a Mom who's worn out from Thanksgiving and good for a family who needed a change from turkey food. This is a great way to use up the last of your eggs before shopping day. To beef it up a bit for my boys, I added one pound of ground pork that I spiced up a bit with sage, red pepper flake, more paprika and fresh ground pepper. Instead of bread, I served this over homemade fluffy whole wheat biscuits. Easy for Mom, hearty enough for a brinner night for my three men. Win/win. Thanks, Dana. NOTE: This was more than enough for dinner for three boys and enough for a midnight snack for my husband later tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
This is ok, but bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dewdrops

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
My mother-in-law used to make this and now I do. It was generally served for brunch or on a special occasion like Easter or Christmas. However, it's easy and delicious enough to serve any time. My family (kids included) love it. Like my mother-in-law, I serve mine over english muffins with Little Smokies and cranberry sauce on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Eggscellent dish! I felt like I was eating something really fancy. Quick and easy too since I already had peeled hard boiled eggs in the refrigerator. I loved the paprika on top, it added a little something to keep this from being bland. What a great comfort dish this is! This is similar to biscuits and gravy but so much faster and I'll bet a lot healthier in comparison as well. Thanks for sharing, I'm definitely fixing this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Thank you so much for this recipe! I'm a Personal Support Worker, I made this (a quartered recipe) for a client with Huntingtons. She must have foods that are easy to eat as she has issues with swallowing. I'm always looking for something (like this) so she doesn't have to eat the same thing every day. She absolutely loved this recipe and when I admitted I hadn't tried it myself, insisted I have a bite just to taste it. Thanks SO much for sharing this recipe. You will never know how much a woman who has terminal illness appreciates it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoked Salmon and Dill Eggs Benedict

See how to make delicious smoked salmon eggs Benedict without the hollandaise.

Eggs Benedict

Make any brunch special with eggs Benedict--complete with homemade Hollandaise.

How to Make Perfect Poached Eggs

See a great technique for poaching eggs quickly and easily.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States