Goldenrod Egg Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Basically gravy with chopped egg whites served on toast with the yolk sieved through wire mesh over the gravy. Sometimes I add cooked sausage to the gravy. While it isn't a new idea, it is really delicious, with readily available ingredients and quick. Also looks impressive if you have guests for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
I make this several times a year. Try adding some chipped beef to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
This was very good, I am not an egg lover so for me I could eat the gravy part with the whites and leave off the yolks because that is the part I don't like! I have a friend who makes this meal for her family during lent. Followed recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Just from looking at the recipe, thought it would be pretty bland, so added about 1/2# sausage and some tabasco sauce. Pretty good with these changes. Also would NOT cook the flour/butter mixture for the 10 minutes. The 1st batch I made I cooked and it did not get lighter, but got really brown. I added the milk, and it was still brown, so tasted before I added the eggs and sausage, and it tasted burnt. I threw that out, and did it again, but instead of cooking it, just added the milk after 1 minute and it was fine the 2nd time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
I submitted this recipe and it was changed from original submission. The rou should be a white rou, not a brown one, therefore, cook for no more than 5 minutes, (the gravy should turn out like a white gravy for bisquits)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danaferre

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lindon, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Growing up in the South in a large family of six, my mother often made gravy and biscuits for breakfast or even dinner! She would fry a little bacon, scramble the eggs and make a milk gravy right in the pan and serve it over biscuits. We never that she was trying to stretch her pennies, just that our momma sure could cook! lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Mixon Wright

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Chesnee, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
This is the best, we call it Golden Rod Toast...and in my family(although it sounds wierd) You have to eat it with DILL PICKLES a must try yum yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
I have never seen a recipe for this before, but Mom always made this. She just called it Creamed Eggs over Toast, but it's the same recipe. It makes a nice light supper along with a salad. Give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Eggscellent dish! I felt like I was eating something really fancy. Quick and easy too since I already had peeled hard boiled eggs in the refrigerator. I loved the paprika on top, it added a little something to keep this from being bland. What a great comfort dish this is! This is similar to biscuits and gravy but so much faster and I'll bet a lot healthier in comparison as well. Thanks for sharing, I'm definitely fixing this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I love this! When I was little my family made this and called it 'Eggs à la Goldenrod' I love it and plan to make this for lunch for my sweetie who has never had this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millington, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Smoked Salmon and Dill Eggs Benedict

See how to make delicious smoked salmon eggs Benedict without the hollandaise.

Eggs Benedict

Make any brunch special with eggs Benedict--complete with homemade Hollandaise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States