Goldenrod Egg Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
My Mom used to fix this for us at Easter! I still make it throughout the year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
This is ok, but bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dewdrops

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Hey Editors, what's up with this bogus change to Dana's recipe? The sauce should be white. Cook it for 10 minutes and it will get *darker*, and it will be ruined. It will not 'lighten'. Anyway, my mother-in-law introduced this dish to me and I love it. She also calls it Eggs a al Goldenrod. Dana's recipe, done the way she wrote it, is just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hester

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
This is good. I learned this recipe in 1972, in the 8th grade. Our home ec class learned how to make this dish. It was called "eggs a la goldenrod". The ingredients for the "roux" are what is used for a white sauce, and would be between a medium to thick white sauce. At the time we learned how to make this recipe, we also learned how to make homemade bisquits, and we served this over gravy mixture over the bisquits. It was really good, and very simple to make. BTW, our lab group got an "A" for how the dish turned out. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
This is a recipe I learned to make 20 years ago in Home Ec class. We called it Creamed Eggs on Toast. Very tasty, with a slight variation: We hard boiled the eggs, toasted the bread and made the roux. Then sliced the egg over the toast and topped with the roux and pepper. It's still a favorite meal today, it's quick and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
My Southern husband taught me how to make this, but we just chop up the eggs into the cream sauce, and call it creamed eggs. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gocoastl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I agree with Dana, the sauce should be white as I remember eating this as a child and still crave it as an adult.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jh63baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Yummm! I've never had this before but my hubby said it was always breakfast for Easter and asked me to make it. He loved it and so did I! We were able to use some of the eggs from the egg hunt so that was a bonus too! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This was dinner tonight. Simple and quick for a Mom who's worn out from Thanksgiving and good for a family who needed a change from turkey food. This is a great way to use up the last of your eggs before shopping day. To beef it up a bit for my boys, I added one pound of ground pork that I spiced up a bit with sage, red pepper flake, more paprika and fresh ground pepper. Instead of bread, I served this over homemade fluffy whole wheat biscuits. Easy for Mom, hearty enough for a brinner night for my three men. Win/win. Thanks, Dana. NOTE: This was more than enough for dinner for three boys and enough for a midnight snack for my husband later tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
my family always makes this and we all love it!! we add nutmeg to the cream sauce for better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jmarkovsky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoked Salmon and Dill Eggs Benedict

See how to make delicious smoked salmon eggs Benedict without the hollandaise.

Eggs Benedict

Make any brunch special with eggs Benedict--complete with homemade Hollandaise.

How to Make Perfect Poached Eggs

See a great technique for poaching eggs quickly and easily.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States