Golden Yam Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
There were no words at our dinner table when I served this; moans and other appreciative noises, but no words. My biggest problem with this recipe is the fantasy that there are 24 servings. No way a 2x2 square of this golden yammy goodness is enough. More realistic is six servings so you get 1/3 cup of yams in every serving and can pretend it's good for you! Even my 2-year-old, who had just eaten enough for a grown man, shoveled this in with two fists (and he hates using his hands). I used 2 medium yams and ended up with way too much so perhaps one medium-largish should do it. I agree with others that perhaps the name brownie is misleading, but we'll just call it something else at our house and use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Poway, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
These were absolutely fabulous...and my extremely picky 2 year old even cleaned his plate! Any recipe capable of that is a winner in my book! I didn't even use the icing and they were still so delicious! :-) Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
These were delicious. I'm thinking of leaving off the glaze and serving as a side dish similar to corn pudding. I thought of adding a tiny bit of pumpkin pie spice but these really don't need a thing. They are very sweet. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
This is such an awesome recipe! I think they kind of taste like donuts. Mmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissEisbar

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
Wow! I was so surprised by how well these turned out! I brought them to a ladies' gathering, and luckily had the foresight to bring the recipe with me. I ended up copying it for everyone. They were SO moist!! And with no oil...amazing! THanks for this incredible recipe. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
Great dessert recipe. Very moist. Even the kids liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
Oh my gosh, these are sooo good! I just don't even have anything else to say except that you have to try them--I sense that they will become a staple for me! I used some baked yams leftover from Thanksgiving. They were soft enough that I could just stir them in, although there were a few larger (1/4 in. size) pieces of yam left it didn't matter. I think I'll still do that next time--easier than shredding! Also, I used brown sugar in the glaze and it's amazing, nice and crunchy. I may try honey on top next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
These are absolutely addictive. Everyone who tried them, loved them. I will definitely make these again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ESSIEPOO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
I was skeptical about this but tried it anyway. These are mouth watering! I did substitute regular sugar with Splendid and substituted baked yams for the shredded. It still came out with great results. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
THESE ROCK! I love the yam flavor, and everyone gobbled it up before they were even cooled. I used baked mashed yam and there were some small chunks left in it which were a hidden treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 388) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Golden Yam Brownies

Turn yams into amazing gluten-free vegan brownies.

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States