Golden Yam Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
These were absolutely fabulous...and my extremely picky 2 year old even cleaned his plate! Any recipe capable of that is a winner in my book! I didn't even use the icing and they were still so delicious! :-) Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
THESE ROCK! I love the yam flavor, and everyone gobbled it up before they were even cooled. I used baked mashed yam and there were some small chunks left in it which were a hidden treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
This is such an awesome recipe! I think they kind of taste like donuts. Mmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissEisbar

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
These were delicious. I'm thinking of leaving off the glaze and serving as a side dish similar to corn pudding. I thought of adding a tiny bit of pumpkin pie spice but these really don't need a thing. They are very sweet. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
Wow! I was so surprised by how well these turned out! I brought them to a ladies' gathering, and luckily had the foresight to bring the recipe with me. I ended up copying it for everyone. They were SO moist!! And with no oil...amazing! THanks for this incredible recipe. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
Great dessert recipe. Very moist. Even the kids liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
There were no words at our dinner table when I served this; moans and other appreciative noises, but no words. My biggest problem with this recipe is the fantasy that there are 24 servings. No way a 2x2 square of this golden yammy goodness is enough. More realistic is six servings so you get 1/3 cup of yams in every serving and can pretend it's good for you! Even my 2-year-old, who had just eaten enough for a grown man, shoveled this in with two fists (and he hates using his hands). I used 2 medium yams and ended up with way too much so perhaps one medium-largish should do it. I agree with others that perhaps the name brownie is misleading, but we'll just call it something else at our house and use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Poway, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
Oh my gosh, these are sooo good! I just don't even have anything else to say except that you have to try them--I sense that they will become a staple for me! I used some baked yams leftover from Thanksgiving. They were soft enough that I could just stir them in, although there were a few larger (1/4 in. size) pieces of yam left it didn't matter. I think I'll still do that next time--easier than shredding! Also, I used brown sugar in the glaze and it's amazing, nice and crunchy. I may try honey on top next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
These are absolutely addictive. Everyone who tried them, loved them. I will definitely make these again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ESSIEPOO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
I was skeptical about this but tried it anyway. These are mouth watering! I did substitute regular sugar with Splendid and substituted baked yams for the shredded. It still came out with great results. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 382) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Golden Yam Brownies

Turn yams into amazing gluten-free vegan brownies.

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States