Golden Yam Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
This is a fantastic recipe. Easily prepared and amazingly rich and satisfying. I highly recommend it, even for those who don't care for yams. An A+!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
Who would have thought that you could even make brownies from yams? We do love our chocolate! Just don't tell the kids whats in them :) Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
Easy to make and very good. Even better the next day. Took it to a church function where we needed to bring refreshments. Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
YUM! =) What a different way to make brownies. These were indeed very moist, almost cake-like. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2005
What a great flavor and so nutritious! I think that it could use a different name than "brownies" since they aren't brown and don't even come close to tasting like a wonderful, chocolate brownie. But they were great and actually tasted like a nutritious cousin of the Tres Leches cake, esp when warm. would make again and again - perfect for kids to eat their veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
This smelled wonderful while cooking. I was looking for a way to get some Vitamin A and beta carotene as well as potassium in my 4 kiddos, and yams/sweet potatoes seemed like they could do the trick. I started with 3 smallish fresh "yams". Scrubbed them clean, poked them on each side with a fork a few times, & placed them on a couple of paper towels in the microwave. I then nuked them for 3 1/2 minutes, turned them over, then nuked them all for another 3 1/2 minutes. Let them cool a bit before removing the skin (came off easily) and throwing them in my food processor to get them all nice and creamy. (It was so thick I needed to use 2 of the 4 eggs in the processor to help make it liquidy enough to process.) Followed the rest of the recipe exactly. Perhaps by using fresh yams and using 2 eggs to puree or whip them smooth is what made me need 10 additional minutes on my cooking time. I have to say- all of us, from age 4 to my hubby, LOVE these and they are delicious! I did not do the last step and add even more sugar and butter and milk on the top when it was warm. They were absolutely sweet enough and moist enough w/o adding even more sugar and saturated fat, so I do not regret leaving it off. This recipe is a keeper for us but we renamed it. Brownies are drier and crumbly. These are moist and awesome!! Plus I can not help but think of chocolate from the word "brownie". So thank you thank you for giving us the recipe for the "Golden Yam Cake". :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
I found this recipe while searching for anything w/ yams in order to get more potassium in my diet. I followed advice and microwaved 3 yams, peeled them and put them in a food processor w/ 2 of the 4 eggs. I did have to cook approx 5 min longer and I did make the frosting. WOW! This was incredible. I had 5 kids eat 2 portions each and ask for more. The adults loved it also. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2005
I'll call these "Yammies" in my recipe file!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
I have to agree with others in the name. They were very easy to make. The taste was sort of bland but not bad. I followed the recipe to the tee. Very moist. I would make again ,maybe put a sprinkle of cinnamon or nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
These were absolutely fabulous...and my extremely picky 2 year old even cleaned his plate! Any recipe capable of that is a winner in my book! I didn't even use the icing and they were still so delicious! :-) Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 382) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Golden Yam Brownies

Turn yams into amazing gluten-free vegan brownies.

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States