Golden Yam Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
This is a fantastic recipe. Easily prepared and amazingly rich and satisfying. I highly recommend it, even for those who don't care for yams. An A+!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
Who would have thought that you could even make brownies from yams? We do love our chocolate! Just don't tell the kids whats in them :) Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
Easy to make and very good. Even better the next day. Took it to a church function where we needed to bring refreshments. Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
YUM! =) What a different way to make brownies. These were indeed very moist, almost cake-like. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2005
What a great flavor and so nutritious! I think that it could use a different name than "brownies" since they aren't brown and don't even come close to tasting like a wonderful, chocolate brownie. But they were great and actually tasted like a nutritious cousin of the Tres Leches cake, esp when warm. would make again and again - perfect for kids to eat their veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
This smelled wonderful while cooking. I was looking for a way to get some Vitamin A and beta carotene as well as potassium in my 4 kiddos, and yams/sweet potatoes seemed like they could do the trick. I started with 3 smallish fresh "yams". Scrubbed them clean, poked them on each side with a fork a few times, & placed them on a couple of paper towels in the microwave. I then nuked them for 3 1/2 minutes, turned them over, then nuked them all for another 3 1/2 minutes. Let them cool a bit before removing the skin (came off easily) and throwing them in my food processor to get them all nice and creamy. (It was so thick I needed to use 2 of the 4 eggs in the processor to help make it liquidy enough to process.) Followed the rest of the recipe exactly. Perhaps by using fresh yams and using 2 eggs to puree or whip them smooth is what made me need 10 additional minutes on my cooking time. I have to say- all of us, from age 4 to my hubby, LOVE these and they are delicious! I did not do the last step and add even more sugar and butter and milk on the top when it was warm. They were absolutely sweet enough and moist enough w/o adding even more sugar and saturated fat, so I do not regret leaving it off. This recipe is a keeper for us but we renamed it. Brownies are drier and crumbly. These are moist and awesome!! Plus I can not help but think of chocolate from the word "brownie". So thank you thank you for giving us the recipe for the "Golden Yam Cake". :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
I found this recipe while searching for anything w/ yams in order to get more potassium in my diet. I followed advice and microwaved 3 yams, peeled them and put them in a food processor w/ 2 of the 4 eggs. I did have to cook approx 5 min longer and I did make the frosting. WOW! This was incredible. I had 5 kids eat 2 portions each and ask for more. The adults loved it also. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2005
I'll call these "Yammies" in my recipe file!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
I have to agree with others in the name. They were very easy to make. The taste was sort of bland but not bad. I followed the recipe to the tee. Very moist. I would make again ,maybe put a sprinkle of cinnamon or nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
These were absolutely fabulous...and my extremely picky 2 year old even cleaned his plate! Any recipe capable of that is a winner in my book! I didn't even use the icing and they were still so delicious! :-) Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 392) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Golden Yam Brownies

Turn yams into amazing gluten-free vegan brownies.

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States