Golden Yam Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by JoyBugaloo
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I was doing a search for recipes with "golden" in the title (working on a dinner menu for viewing the Golden Globes) when I came across this one. So I decided to make these for our dessert. I read ALL of the reviews before I began, and I made a few of the suggested adaptations. I added a little cinnamon (1 tsp) for more flavor, cut the brown and white sugars to 3/4 cup each (so 1 1/2 cups total), and I added a cup of chopped pecans just because I love nuts. I was going to make a cream cheese frosting instead of the glaze in the original recipe, but as others have noted, even with cutting back the sugars, they were sweet enough without any topping. The resulting bars tasted quite good and more so the next day. However, the texture was very moist and dense, and not as light as I thought they would be from the photo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoyBugaloo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Talent, Oregon, USA
Living In: Plattsburgh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Finally made this recipe after it being in my recipe box for several years. It was wonderful! Without telling my son what was in it, I offered him a piece – he even asked for seconds! Unfortunately, he "found out" the "secret ingredient" and was outraged that his mother would fool him into eating the dreaded sweet potato – all the while chowing down on yet another piece! I did not pre-cook the sweet potato; I just shredded it in the food processer. And, thinking it might be too sweet for my family's tastes, I cut the amount of sugar to only 1/2 cup of brown (eliminating the white sugar completely). I also cooked it in an 8x8 pan and only used 1/2 cup icing sugar for the frosting. It was heavenly!! I will definitely be making this recipe again! Oh, we also call it "Golden Blondies" because a "brownie" usually has chocolate in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teejaymacd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Summerside, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Living In: Kensington, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
They are more like carrot cake then brownies, but nonetheless delicious. I completely omitted the white sugar since I figured they'd be sweet enough with the yams, brown sugar, and the glaze. I also used almond milk instead of cow milk. They were a hit with my roommates and boyfriend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I love these but thought they were too sweet, so I didn't make the glaze. Next time I made them I cut the white sugar to 3/4 c and swapped half the butter for applesauce. Yum!! So moist!! I might experiment with one less egg to see if they will hold up better on a cookie tray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great. That said, it was more like a cake. I might use this as a cake recipe since my Southern boyfriend said about 10 times that it was amazing. Next time I might use a citrus cream cheese frosting for the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callista

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Monterey, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I think this recipe is awesome as long as you add cinnamon, ginger and nutmeg. That way it brings out the yummy yam flavor. Otherwise it is a little plain. But great idea! I would definately recommend it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Very tasty. I didn't measure everything out perfectly I kind of just eyed everything. But it was very good. I would say though that is it pretty sweet and I didnt put the glaze over it. I also found that it was a bit greasy and needs less butter. I also used 3 eggs as I hate desserts that taste eggy and doing this I couldnt taste any eggs. Great Recipe, I feel guilty everytime I take a bite of it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Organic Nut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
These are absolutely fabulous!!! I used 1/2 white flour, 1/2 whole wheat flour. Didn't use the glaze and cut white sugar down to 1/2 cup. They were still super sweet and this is coming from a sugar addict! Next time I'll try cutting the sugar even further just to see how healthy I can get these without sacrificing taste. Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This is yummy! I did make some changes and am noting them here for when I make this again. I halved the recipe,used 1/4 c of ww flour, used a cooked yam since that's all I had, but plan to use a fresh one next time. I used 1/2 apple sauce 1/3 canola oil. I did use the glaze and used the real butter it called for and also added a 1/4 tsp of cinnamon. These alterations were based on a half recipe. This was plenty sweet and incredibly moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tasteeone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
For those of you who like a less "cakey" brownie, just leave out the baking powder. That's what I did, and they came out wonderfully dense and chewy. I also added 1 tsp fresh ginger, 1 tsp ground cinnamon, and a cup of raisins to one batch. It was quite good without them, but absolutely to die for with them. I kept the full amount of sugar, and loved it with the glaze. My boyfriend preferred it without glaze, which surprised me because he's usually more of a sweet tooth, but I was really glad I made several versions. I rated this a 5 because a good "base" recipe is worth far more than one you can't add anything to, because everyone has different tastes. This is definitely a "season to taste" recipe. I will definitely be making this recipe over and over again for many years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Catlett, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 388) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Golden Yam Brownies

Turn yams into amazing gluten-free vegan brownies.

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States