Golden Yam Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Ho-ly Cow!! These came out amazing! I prepared it just as the directions said. I just added a bit of cinnamon, nutmeg and ginger into the mix. UNBELIEVABLE! It's like a cross between a pancake/muffin/brownie! So good. Everyone who tried has raved! Going to make it for Thanksgiving for sure! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
EXTREMELY sweet but delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I loved these brownies! They were a hit both at home and the office. Everyone who ate one asked me for the recipe. I will definitely be using this recipe again in the near future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMCookinNow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
LOVED IT!!! Did do some changes, 3 cups of fresh shredded yams, 1/3 cup wheat bran, 1 1/3 cups flour, 1 teaspoon cinnamon, 1/2 cup butter, 1/2 cup sour cream, and for both sugars 3/4 of a cup. The rest of ingredients stayed the same. And did not do the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Made because of all the rave reviews, but absolutely the worst I have ever tasted!! My husband and I forced ourselves to each eat one, but then threw the rest of the pan away!! Don't waste your time or ingredients!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
These are always a hit! I like the texture better when I use three eggs instead of four, but four is good too! I also like to top them with cream cheese frosting. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
I made these Golden Yam Brownies this afternoon and they were heavenly! Unfortunately, I did not have fresh yams, so I used two cups of mashed candied yams, and, along with the addition of some pumpkin pie spice, this was the only alteration I made to the recipe. I found it to be a bit overwhelmingly sweet, but my mom, who admits that she is quite the sugar-addict, thought it was just perfect. I also didn't think that the texture was very much like that of a brownie (maybe more like a baked custard/pudding???) as it was a bit too moist for a brownie, and, although set, was quite wet. I'm guessing this happened because I used canned yams? I still enjoyed this recipe quite a bit, and will definitely be trying it again! I would like to attempt it with fresh yams, but, I have to admit, am a huge fan of the custard-like consistency yielded by the canned yams! After baking this, my whole kitchen smells just like the holidays! This is a wonderful dish for fall, Thanksgiving, Christmas, or just a very decadent dessert for those with a sweet tooth! Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bacisgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Mmm... I could get myself in trouble with these. I'm not sure about the excitement of having veggies in this; I'd have to eat the entire pan to get close to a serving of veggies! I've had this recipe hanging around for awhile. I haven't made it because I usually just love to eat sweet potatoes for dinner...but I bought one and didn't have a specific recipe in mind. Anyow: yum! I would agree with several others that they are a tad greasy. I'd reduce the butter by about 1/3. I would probably cut out 1/4 of each of the sugars, but still use the glaze. The glaze is yummy! My bf suggested a brown sugar glaze next time. If only these were truly health food... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
My husband couldn't stay of these so I know he really liked them! Everyone thought it was carrot cake at first until I told them different.I tried to make them a little more healthy so I used just 1 stick of butter and subbed the rest with applesauce.I also added a little cinnamon and nutmeg for extra flavor.I used my cheese grater to shred the sweet potatoes but next time I may try using cooked mashed ones to save a little time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
I had extra yams which I didn't know what to do with it. I followed the recipe exactly and this turned out so delicious. My husband took it to his office and it was gone shortly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 382) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Golden Yam Brownies

Turn yams into amazing gluten-free vegan brownies.

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States