Golden Yam Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Yummy way to eat some good for you sweet potato/yams. I recommend cutting back the sugar about 1/4 for both brown and white sugars. You probably could do the same with the butter. Someone else recommended raisins and cinnamon too ... going to try that next time for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teachmeyoga

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Larkspur, California, USA
Living In: Cotati, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Yummy! Used peeled raw yams. 1/2 cup white 1/2 cup brown sugars. Came out great, but someone said it was kind of like sweet potato corn bread so I guess the amount of sugar I used was too low. I didnt make the icing so that probably would have sweetened them up a bit more. I dont really like yams or sweet potatoes but this is a great way to eat them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Samitestar
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I love this recipe, it is so versatile. I made these with Purple Sweet Potatoes (find them at an Asian Grocery). I replaced the brown sugar with white (didn't want the color to affect the pretty purple shredded sweet potato, same with the vanilla, I replaced it with Triple Sec (a clear, orange flavored liquor). For the glaze on top I heated Ube Jam (purple yam jam, very popular in the Philippines, also found this at the Asian Grocery) and thinned it with milk until it was a spreading consistancy. I waited for the brownies to cool, cut them out with a straight edge knife, they are super sticky and crumbly, so cut carefully, then I covered them with the purple yam glaze. They were so pretty and everyone at the club loved them. Thanks so much Starflower!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
These turned out great! You would never know that the orange flecks in the dish were yams. although I would call these blondies, not brownies : ) Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Made this to our friends' bday party. They love it! I REDUCED SUGAR and it tastes good though still quite sweet. I think it tastes a little bit like cornbread and our bday girl who loves cornbread asked for the recipe. LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albany, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I made these exactly as written. I wasn't crazy about the texture of the brownies with the shredded sweet potato. The flavor was good but I think I would have liked them better if the potatoes were cooked and mashed, then added to the batter. I also agree with the reviews that say to decrease the butter. It was just a little too much for me. I would try it again with some modifications though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Ho-ly Cow!! These came out amazing! I prepared it just as the directions said. I just added a bit of cinnamon, nutmeg and ginger into the mix. UNBELIEVABLE! It's like a cross between a pancake/muffin/brownie! So good. Everyone who tried has raved! Going to make it for Thanksgiving for sure! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
EXTREMELY sweet but delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I loved these brownies! They were a hit both at home and the office. Everyone who ate one asked me for the recipe. I will definitely be using this recipe again in the near future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMCookinNow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
LOVED IT!!! Did do some changes, 3 cups of fresh shredded yams, 1/3 cup wheat bran, 1 1/3 cups flour, 1 teaspoon cinnamon, 1/2 cup butter, 1/2 cup sour cream, and for both sugars 3/4 of a cup. The rest of ingredients stayed the same. And did not do the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 388) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Golden Yam Brownies

Turn yams into amazing gluten-free vegan brownies.

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States