Golden Yam Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
These were so good - took to reunion - great reviews
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
I gave it 4 out of 5 stars only because I made some changes. I followed most of the other reviewers and cut the sugar down. I used 2/3 cup white sugar and 3/4 cup brpwn sugar. I added a good heaping teaspoon of cinnamon and then substituted orange juice for the milk in the glaze. They turned out delicious. I really wouldn't call them brownies, it seems more of a sheet cake style cake to me but I will definitely be making them again, they were a hit with the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Roslyn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I made a small batch to try, 8x8 pan. These are just wonderful. I may add some nuts, finely chopped, next go around. So, so moist and great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Gordon Peo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
This recipe is absolutely delicious. I made it as per original recipe and it was sweet,moist, & gave a true yam flavor. The only problem was that i should have doubled the recipe because it didnt last
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Excellent! To make this a little healthier, use 1/2 cup oil and 1/2 cup applesauce, and cut both sugars to 3/4 cup. For more flavor, add 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp each ginger and nutmeg, and 1/2 cup of raisins. If you don't like overly flat cake, make one and a half times the recipe for a 9x13.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Delicious! Everyone liked. I used whole wheat flour, added 1 tsp. cinnamon. I reduced the white and brown sugar amounts to 3/4 cup each in the mix, and found that plenty sweet. I also used 1/2 cup butter, and replaced the other 1/2 cup with applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
WOW!!! These were so different and just plain delicious. More of a super moist bar texture (like a lemon bar) than a brownie (cake texture). I loved the unique flavor of yams in this dessert. I shredded on my finest grater setting and put them in raw and there was no evidence of "yam shreds" in the final product even though the batter was very lumpy. 2 cups of sugars did seem like a lot to me as well. I cut the white and brown down to 3/4 c. each and it was still plenty sweet. Don't skip the glaze! These are a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Good but not great. I substituted 8 oz of vanilla greek yogurt for one stick of butter and used sweet potatoes instead of yams; however, I don't think that affected the taste much. They were moist but didn't love the texture with the shredded sweet potatoes. Save yourself time and use canned, mashed yams/sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sumner, Iowa, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
I made these and followed it to theT and they were PERFECT, my son eat 3 before he asked what they were and when I told him, he was shocked. I love them, I didnt do a glaze just dusted with powered sugard simply wonderful! Tanks STARFLOWER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsMitchell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Very very moist and flavorful. I used 3 eggs and 1 egg white and only 1/2 cup of the white sugar, and am glad I did. It is already sweet enough, and more sugar would have made it worse, not better. The glaze is important - don't skip it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 391) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Golden Yam Brownies

Turn yams into amazing gluten-free vegan brownies.

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States