Golden Yam Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Excellent! To make this a little healthier, use 1/2 cup oil and 1/2 cup applesauce, and cut both sugars to 3/4 cup. For more flavor, add 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp each ginger and nutmeg, and 1/2 cup of raisins. If you don't like overly flat cake, make one and a half times the recipe for a 9x13.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Delicious! Everyone liked. I used whole wheat flour, added 1 tsp. cinnamon. I reduced the white and brown sugar amounts to 3/4 cup each in the mix, and found that plenty sweet. I also used 1/2 cup butter, and replaced the other 1/2 cup with applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
WOW!!! These were so different and just plain delicious. More of a super moist bar texture (like a lemon bar) than a brownie (cake texture). I loved the unique flavor of yams in this dessert. I shredded on my finest grater setting and put them in raw and there was no evidence of "yam shreds" in the final product even though the batter was very lumpy. 2 cups of sugars did seem like a lot to me as well. I cut the white and brown down to 3/4 c. each and it was still plenty sweet. Don't skip the glaze! These are a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Good but not great. I substituted 8 oz of vanilla greek yogurt for one stick of butter and used sweet potatoes instead of yams; however, I don't think that affected the taste much. They were moist but didn't love the texture with the shredded sweet potatoes. Save yourself time and use canned, mashed yams/sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sumner, Iowa, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
I made these and followed it to theT and they were PERFECT, my son eat 3 before he asked what they were and when I told him, he was shocked. I love them, I didnt do a glaze just dusted with powered sugard simply wonderful! Tanks STARFLOWER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsMitchell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Very very moist and flavorful. I used 3 eggs and 1 egg white and only 1/2 cup of the white sugar, and am glad I did. It is already sweet enough, and more sugar would have made it worse, not better. The glaze is important - don't skip it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
These were extremely sweet. They tasted good at first, but weren't something we wanted to keep eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Absolutely wonderful!!!! I actually had a funny experience. I made this recipe and was surprised at how totally greasy and sickeningly oily it was. Then I realized that I had accidentally doubled the butter, oops! I tried making it again a few days later and was pleasantly surprised that it was as good as everyone said. I also added 1 teaspoon of Siagon Cinnamon (a spicy cinnamon that tastes like red hot candies. It's available at Costco). They were sooooooo gooooooood! I also used a large can of yams instead of shredding them. My daughter who despises sweet potatoes, loved these (of course I didn't tell her that there were sweet potatoes/yams in them - hehe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
EXCELLENTE! PERFECTO! I followed other's recommendations: USED: 1 stick butter 1/2 cup packed brown sugar 1/2 cup white sugar 2 eggs 1 teaspoons vanilla extract 1 teaspoon baking soda 1 teaspoon nutmeg 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon 1 cup golden raisins 2+ cups peeled and finely shredded yam AMAZING! DELICIOSO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAKES CORNER by WILILYN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Yummy way to eat some good for you sweet potato/yams. I recommend cutting back the sugar about 1/4 for both brown and white sugars. You probably could do the same with the butter. Someone else recommended raisins and cinnamon too ... going to try that next time for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teachmeyoga

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Larkspur, California, USA
Living In: Cotati, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 387) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Golden Yam Brownies

Turn yams into amazing gluten-free vegan brownies.

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States