Golden Yam Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Very creative use of yams! I bought some beautiful yams at a farmers market only to find out after they were cooked and peeled they were not a pretty orange but quickly oxidizing to a gray/green. Yuck. This recipe saved the yams from rejection. I had 3-4 cups yams; so I added an egg, baking powder and mashed the yam completely smooth and I only had whole wheat flour. I skipped the sugary drizzle on top. It is fluffy and moist and NOT grey/green. Lovely creative recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
For starters, I am the only one in my family of 7 who likes sweet potatoes, so when I was given several of them I looked for a recipe that I thought would satisfy my family. I followed the recipe exactly and I loved them. My kids saw the pieces of sweet potatoes in them and wouldn't eat them. My husband said they were "ok". I took most of them to a friends family, who I knew woud eat them. Bummer that my family didn't like them, but I thought they were so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Followed the recipe and definitely had no problems with it staying moist. In fact- they were straight up SOGGY! Had to eat them with a fork, they were definitely not brownie-like in texture! Still give them a high score because they tasted AMAZING and I would totally make them again. Maybe I'll decrease the eggs like others did, add a little more flour and shred the yams finer to see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
I read all the reviews before I started these and made changes based on what I knew we would/would not like. And these were...ok. The biggest issue, as others have indicated, is the texture. For most people, the name of a recipe conjures up a picture of what it will be. If you like your brownies to have a cake-like texture, this is probably a great choice for you. If you like them more dense and chewy, you'll end up disappointed. Regarding flavor, as written this wouldn't work for us. I reduced the sugars, added cinnamon, nutmeg and pecans, and subbed oj for the milk in the glaze, all of which were good choices for us. I was hoping for a chewy and dense brownie-like consistency so followed one reviewer's suggestion to leave out the baking powder. I also used a 10x15 bar pan (baked 20 minutes only) to get a thinner result. I'm glad I made those changes. And, after all is said and done, they were ok. I took them to work, people said 'thanks' but the usual compliments were not forthcoming. This is one I won't go back to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
I made these for a friend who loves sweet potatoes! She thought they were better than chocolate brownies. I liked them too, although i like Blondies better. I would make them again but I wouldn't put them on my "top 10" list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kate20255

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cape Charles, Virginia, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Amazing! I was sort of concerned about shredding the yam, but using the fine side of the grater it takes maybe 5 minutes, maybe. Off of other peoples recommendations I completely cut out the white sugar and only used the brown and it was still sweet enough. I did add extra flour (3 Tablespoons) since I am high elevation and that seemed to help. I made this twice in one week for a group of friends and gave the recipe out to those I made them for. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Absolutely delicious!! I just made these, and I'm trying not to go get another one! Very moist, which I love, but won't stay stiff enough for me to get out of the pan in one piece. I'm going to see if it stays together after it cools all the way. Next time I may add an extra 1/4 of flour. I added 1/2 tsp. of pumpkin pie spice to the batter, and that really rocked it out. I can't wait to make these during the Thanksgiving holidays. I did have to bake it for an extra 8 minutes. The recipe was simple, and the hardest part was grating the sweet potato, because peeling and grating took 10 or 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
These were so good - took to reunion - great reviews
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
I gave it 4 out of 5 stars only because I made some changes. I followed most of the other reviewers and cut the sugar down. I used 2/3 cup white sugar and 3/4 cup brpwn sugar. I added a good heaping teaspoon of cinnamon and then substituted orange juice for the milk in the glaze. They turned out delicious. I really wouldn't call them brownies, it seems more of a sheet cake style cake to me but I will definitely be making them again, they were a hit with the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Roslyn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I made a small batch to try, 8x8 pan. These are just wonderful. I may add some nuts, finely chopped, next go around. So, so moist and great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Gordon Peo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 388) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Golden Yam Brownies

Turn yams into amazing gluten-free vegan brownies.

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States