Golden Yam Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Good; very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAVVYSCRAPPER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aubrey, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
GREAT! All the positive things others have noted! Thank you everyone for suggestions to reduce sugars and to add cinnamon and nutmeg! I reduced sugars to 3/4 cups each and a teaspoon of cinnamon and a half teaspoon of nutmeg. My non-yam eating family members LOVED it! Yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
WOW! Top 5 recipes I've ever made. ADD LEMON!!! This was the best addition I made. I zested a whole large lemon and the juiced it. This slight citrus addition really let the other flavors pop out. I made an account on this website just to put that recommendation. I also cut the sugar a lot. Only used 1 1/2 cups of brown sugar (as opposed to 1 cup brown sugar and 1 cup white sugar). Also I ditched the frosting, and instead I caramelized some raisins and threw them on top. I used sweet potatoes not yams. Super delicious. This recipe will surprise and impress the people you serve it to. GREAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
DELICIOUS! Family loved it, including my toddler. Husband called it a healthy bread pudding. I omitted the white sugar altogether.. as the potatoes were already sweet. Only used 1 egg and 1 egg white instead of 4. Added 1/2tsp of cinnamon to the batter before baking, and another 1/2 tsp to the glaze topping. I think the cinnamon really made it flavorful. Was worried when I poured it into the 9x13 dish that I either had too little batter, or too big of a dish, but in the end I loved how the bars weren't thick. So if you want thicker bars, use a smaller dish. I did glaze while warm and the batter absorbed it beautifully. But I did wait for it to cool before cutting and they cut into perfect little bars. Will be making again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsi Thibodeaux

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
These were pretty yummy and I don't think anyone guessed they were made of yams! With all the sugar and butter though I'm not sure these count as "healthy". Not a personal favorite, but a big hit at the office for non-chocolate people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Very creative use of yams! I bought some beautiful yams at a farmers market only to find out after they were cooked and peeled they were not a pretty orange but quickly oxidizing to a gray/green. Yuck. This recipe saved the yams from rejection. I had 3-4 cups yams; so I added an egg, baking powder and mashed the yam completely smooth and I only had whole wheat flour. I skipped the sugary drizzle on top. It is fluffy and moist and NOT grey/green. Lovely creative recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
For starters, I am the only one in my family of 7 who likes sweet potatoes, so when I was given several of them I looked for a recipe that I thought would satisfy my family. I followed the recipe exactly and I loved them. My kids saw the pieces of sweet potatoes in them and wouldn't eat them. My husband said they were "ok". I took most of them to a friends family, who I knew woud eat them. Bummer that my family didn't like them, but I thought they were so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Followed the recipe and definitely had no problems with it staying moist. In fact- they were straight up SOGGY! Had to eat them with a fork, they were definitely not brownie-like in texture! Still give them a high score because they tasted AMAZING and I would totally make them again. Maybe I'll decrease the eggs like others did, add a little more flour and shred the yams finer to see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
I read all the reviews before I started these and made changes based on what I knew we would/would not like. And these were...ok. The biggest issue, as others have indicated, is the texture. For most people, the name of a recipe conjures up a picture of what it will be. If you like your brownies to have a cake-like texture, this is probably a great choice for you. If you like them more dense and chewy, you'll end up disappointed. Regarding flavor, as written this wouldn't work for us. I reduced the sugars, added cinnamon, nutmeg and pecans, and subbed oj for the milk in the glaze, all of which were good choices for us. I was hoping for a chewy and dense brownie-like consistency so followed one reviewer's suggestion to leave out the baking powder. I also used a 10x15 bar pan (baked 20 minutes only) to get a thinner result. I'm glad I made those changes. And, after all is said and done, they were ok. I took them to work, people said 'thanks' but the usual compliments were not forthcoming. This is one I won't go back to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
I made these for a friend who loves sweet potatoes! She thought they were better than chocolate brownies. I liked them too, although i like Blondies better. I would make them again but I wouldn't put them on my "top 10" list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kate20255

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cape Charles, Virginia, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 383) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Golden Yam Brownies

Turn yams into amazing gluten-free vegan brownies.

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States