Golden Yam Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
These are awesome!! They are requested at family parties and school functions for my children!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I'll start off by letting you know I grew my own yams, a great feat for a girl from the Bronx! I was excited to get started on this recipe. I had all the ingredients but the vanilla extract so I substituted with almond extract....OMG! Awesome! I suggest you try this immediately!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yoybebe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Good; very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAVVYSCRAPPER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aubrey, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
GREAT! All the positive things others have noted! Thank you everyone for suggestions to reduce sugars and to add cinnamon and nutmeg! I reduced sugars to 3/4 cups each and a teaspoon of cinnamon and a half teaspoon of nutmeg. My non-yam eating family members LOVED it! Yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
WOW! Top 5 recipes I've ever made. ADD LEMON!!! This was the best addition I made. I zested a whole large lemon and the juiced it. This slight citrus addition really let the other flavors pop out. I made an account on this website just to put that recommendation. I also cut the sugar a lot. Only used 1 1/2 cups of brown sugar (as opposed to 1 cup brown sugar and 1 cup white sugar). Also I ditched the frosting, and instead I caramelized some raisins and threw them on top. I used sweet potatoes not yams. Super delicious. This recipe will surprise and impress the people you serve it to. GREAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
DELICIOUS! Family loved it, including my toddler. Husband called it a healthy bread pudding. I omitted the white sugar altogether.. as the potatoes were already sweet. Only used 1 egg and 1 egg white instead of 4. Added 1/2tsp of cinnamon to the batter before baking, and another 1/2 tsp to the glaze topping. I think the cinnamon really made it flavorful. Was worried when I poured it into the 9x13 dish that I either had too little batter, or too big of a dish, but in the end I loved how the bars weren't thick. So if you want thicker bars, use a smaller dish. I did glaze while warm and the batter absorbed it beautifully. But I did wait for it to cool before cutting and they cut into perfect little bars. Will be making again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsi Thibodeaux

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
These were pretty yummy and I don't think anyone guessed they were made of yams! With all the sugar and butter though I'm not sure these count as "healthy". Not a personal favorite, but a big hit at the office for non-chocolate people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Very creative use of yams! I bought some beautiful yams at a farmers market only to find out after they were cooked and peeled they were not a pretty orange but quickly oxidizing to a gray/green. Yuck. This recipe saved the yams from rejection. I had 3-4 cups yams; so I added an egg, baking powder and mashed the yam completely smooth and I only had whole wheat flour. I skipped the sugary drizzle on top. It is fluffy and moist and NOT grey/green. Lovely creative recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
For starters, I am the only one in my family of 7 who likes sweet potatoes, so when I was given several of them I looked for a recipe that I thought would satisfy my family. I followed the recipe exactly and I loved them. My kids saw the pieces of sweet potatoes in them and wouldn't eat them. My husband said they were "ok". I took most of them to a friends family, who I knew woud eat them. Bummer that my family didn't like them, but I thought they were so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Followed the recipe and definitely had no problems with it staying moist. In fact- they were straight up SOGGY! Had to eat them with a fork, they were definitely not brownie-like in texture! Still give them a high score because they tasted AMAZING and I would totally make them again. Maybe I'll decrease the eggs like others did, add a little more flour and shred the yams finer to see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 385) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Golden Yam Brownies

Turn yams into amazing gluten-free vegan brownies.

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States