Golden Yam Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
to die for! cut the sugar to half, then use 1/2 brown and 1/2 white
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
OH MY GOODNESS! this is SOOOO yummy. I made some moderations, however. I cut the sugar in half, used wheat flour instead of white and used smart balance butter instead of the fatty kind. Delicious. The kids will love it. I also omitted the glaze. It's perfectly sweet without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
AMAZING! Although nothing like the classic chewy brownie, this is an incredibly rich, moist and fluffy cake. My roomates finished it off in 20 minutes! The yams are incredibly sweet and oily as they are so the second time i made it i cut the sugar and butter in HALF and it was even more incredible! The third time i made it i cut the butter and sugar by 3/4 and it was less rich but STILL delicious and much more healthy. The yams do not need to be pre-cooked. MAKE THIS you will not regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIAM
Reviewed: May 14, 2010
Fabulous!!! I didn't have a grater handy so I decided to make it easier on myself and bake a large sweet potato in the microwave for about 7 minutes, until it was very soft. I let it cool and then peeled and mashed it. I added a bit of water to it to moisten it a bit and it came up to almost 2 cups. I Also followed some reviewers suggestions and cut down on the sugar to 1 1/2 cups instead of 2. Followed the rest exactly. It was so good, my son could not speak! He was stuffing his mouth with big bites and banging his hand on the table!!! He said it is one of the best desserts he has ever had! My parents loved them too. Even my brother who HATES vergetables including sweet potatoes in desserts said they were really good! They did not feel they were lacking any sweetness either. Came out moist, soft and a bit chewy in a tender way. great texture and great flavour! Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
Tasted fine, but I wouldn't make them again. End up eating them all myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Will use less butter next time, but overall this was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
These were amazing! I actually only had cooked yams, so I used those, and they made these SO MOIST! I especially liked these warm. I prefer to warm them up rather than eat them at room temp. My kids loved them too, and i think we ate the whole pan by the next day. Be careful, I would make them to share, or cut recipe in half or you might gain some lbs, cause you'll want to eat them all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy A

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Great recipes - delicious - used half the sugars called for and found them sweet enough - especially with the addition of the glaze! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
I don't know what makes this a brownie, not enjoyable at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
I was disappointed in these. I thought is was going to be more like a blonde brownie. It was more of a cake. The flavor was good but not what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 390) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Golden Yam Brownies

Turn yams into amazing gluten-free vegan brownies.

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States